GPS won't download/update

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by FitzG, Nov 14, 2018.

  1. FitzG

    FitzG

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 540 TM
    My TomTom GPS (XXL 540 TM) won't download/update. I've been trying for hours and for over a week to sort it, without success. see attached screenshot of the download/update error.

    (in red)> The download was interrupted and these items have not been added to your device. To add these items later, choose 'Update my device' from the main menu in Home. Ensure you switch off any energy-saving features before restarting the download. Click here for more info.


    1) Downloaded QuickGPSFix Downloaded: QuickGPSFix (green)> tick

    2) Download Navigating to a postcode (in red> Cannot modify properties of a WrappedNative X

    3) Download Navigating to a postcode (in red)> Not started, because of earlier failures X

    4) Install to Hard disk (in red)> Not started, because of earlier failures X

    5) Finishing installation (in red)> Not started, because of earlier failures X

    I have tried doing the update several times but always get the same result, as above. So, I formatted the GPS twice. First time, a quick format, and when it didn’t solve the problem, I did a slow format – FAT32 and reinstalled it each time, but without success. I also lost quite a lot of the backups - stored in ‘Documents’ on my PC.


    Can anyone please help me to get it going again?
     

    Attached Files:

    FitzG, Nov 14, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. FitzG

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,100
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Could you try again but only put a check mark on the QuickGPSFix, leaving all others unchecked, and see what happens.
     
    Arno, Nov 14, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. FitzG

    FitzG

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 540 TM
    I didn't insert the check-mark, or the (red) x's, it's the program that does all of that when trying to update.
     
    FitzG, Nov 15, 2018
    #3
  4. FitzG

    FitzG

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 540 TM
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2018
    FitzG, Nov 17, 2018
    #4
  5. FitzG

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,100
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    When did you do your last direct backup of the device to the PC, without HOME connected?
     
    Arno, Nov 18, 2018
    #5
  6. FitzG

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,444
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    I believe Arno is suggesting that when you fire up Home and it comes up with that list of updates, you should then manually uncheck (disable) all of them except for the Quick Fix. However, I think if you only uncheck the post code update, the rest may well come across as well. If unchecking just the post code causes others to update properly, when you are done, you can manually update the post codes this way >> http://uk.support.tomtom.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/9852/
     
    canderson, Nov 18, 2018
    #6
  7. FitzG

    FitzG

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 540 TM
    Thanks for that...guys.

    PDF file - screenshot shows what I get when leaving

    1. Download Navigating to a postcode, ticked.

    2. Download Navigating to a postcode, ticked.

    But, when I uncheck (both 1 & 2) Download Navigating to a postcode, the ‘Update and Install’ button grey out/won’t respond when I click on it.
     

    Attached Files:

    FitzG, Nov 21, 2018
    #7
  8. FitzG

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,100
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    The reason for post # 5 is to see if you could roll back to a working copy from before this problem occurred.
     
    Arno, Nov 21, 2018
    #8
  9. FitzG

    FitzG

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 540 TM
    Not even the following... (sent to me by a TomTom advisor) I tried, but doesn't work.

    I will recommend you to reinstall the TomTom HOME application to your computer. Please perform the steps mentioned below in order to reinstall the application.
    1. Close TomTom HOME completely.

    2. Make sure there are no TomTom related processes running in task manager.
      The Task Manager can be found by pressing the keys Ctrl+Alt+Del and then selecting Task Manager

    3. Uninstall TomTom HOME via the Control Panel

    4. Delete the TomTom folder in (My) Documents

    5. Delete the TomTom folder from the Program files.
      Go to Start and then My Computer/Computer/This PC
      Delete the TomTom folder from C:\Program Files and C:\Program Files (x86)

    6. Check each username profile (marked as <username> here) and make sure the TomTom folders are deleted from the following locations:
      C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Local
      C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Roaming
      C:\Users\<username>\AppData\\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files

    7. Press the Windows Key + R to open the run window.
      Type in %temp% then press OK. Delete as many files from this location as possible. Some files can not be deleted. This is normal

    8. Restart the computer.

    9. Create a new Administrator account in Windows.
      Create a simple username, for instance TomTom, with no spaces or special characters (like like â, é, ë etc.).

    10. Log out of the current account and log in with the new administrator account

    11. Reinstall TomTom HOME.
    INSTALLING TOMTOM HOME
    Download TomTom HOME.
    Go to the download folder, right click on the file TomTomHOMEwinlatest.exe and press run as administrator.
    Note: In some cases installing TomTom HOME in an alternative folder such as TTHOME2 is advised.


    Once you have performed the requested steps then please log into the TomTom application and let me know if you are able to update your TomTom XXL device.
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2018
    FitzG, Nov 21, 2018
    #9
  10. FitzG

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,444
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Please note that your situation has changed from the original post. The QuickGPSFix was successful. Home worked as far as it could.

    Now I think you need to continue as suggested in post #6 which outlines the problem and the manual method for getting the postcode information installed. You are not the first to encounter this.
    Please click the link in #6, try that, and get back to us.
     
    canderson, Nov 21, 2018
    #10
  11. FitzG

    FitzG

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 540 TM
    I found what was causing the update problem. Because it was my brother who bought the TomTom in the US, used it there for a while and then sent it to me in the UK; I then set up my own account for it in the UK and linked it to the TomTom. Therefore, I was trying to update it via my account, and that is why it wasn't updating the postcodes, etc. I then switched to my brother's account, and Boom, it updated everything. It's now showing on my PC; "Your device is up-to-date.../No items available." So, it seems like there is a conflict between my brother's and my own account.

    But, I'm still having problems getting the TomTom to work. When I switch it on, all that is displayed is the TomTom logo, and it just stays there - see attached picture.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 23, 2018
    FitzG, Nov 23, 2018
    #11
  12. FitzG

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,444
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Ahem - yes - knowing that the device had been previously registered would have saved all of us a bit of time.

    And this brings up an entirely different but perhaps important point: Did this device already have a UK/ROI or Western European map installed when you received it from your brother? As purchased in the US, it would not have had anything but the NAM map by default. We seem to be completely in the dark about what may have been another important step in this process. Who installed the map?

    As for 'still having problems', didn't realize you were having issues with anything apart from updates. Has it been behaving that way since you received it, or is this a function of the recent update process?
     
    canderson, Nov 23, 2018
    #12
  13. FitzG

    FitzG

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 540 TM
    From the time I received it from my brother, I registered it in my name and deleted the USA etc map, installed Western European map and it has always downloaded/updated/backup and worked without any problems (even with both accounts in operation), until about 3 weeks ago when I was doing the latest update and it started to back up and it was taking forever as it does...and, because I had to go out in a hurry and didn't want to leave my PC on so I cancelled the update. When I got back home I decided to continue the update and this is when the problem started.

    After trying several downloads/updates it still didn't solve the problem, so I decided to format the TomTom from information I got in this forum. I guess the formatting must have caused the other problem other than the update.

    I did mention in my initial post that I also formatted the TomTom.
     
    FitzG, Nov 24, 2018
    #13
  14. FitzG

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,100
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    [QUOTE="FitzG,]I did mention in my initial post that I also formatted the TomTom.[/QUOTE]
    You did not mention if you did a device to PC back up or if you made a back up with HOME.
    Not even when I asked you specifically about it.
     
    Arno, Nov 24, 2018
    #14
  15. FitzG

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,444
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Yup - that may still be our best hope for getting this one back on the road without a lot of extra work.
    Alternately, if we can be assured that he has, on the PC, the original (or better, updated) W.E. map that he downloaded from TT, it's more a matter of just starting from scratch.
     
    canderson, Nov 25, 2018
    #15
  16. FitzG

    FitzG

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 540 TM
    You did not mention if you did a device to PC back up or if you made a back up with HOME.
    Not even when I asked you specifically about it.[/QUOTE]

    To be honest, I didn't quite understand your questions; so, I concentrated on answering Canderson questions. But, I recollect mentioning in one of my posts I lost some of the backups (missing) on my PC (in Documents/TomTom).
     
    FitzG, Nov 25, 2018
    #16
  17. FitzG

    FitzG

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 540 TM
    See attached screenshot of what I believe to be the device backup files on my PC (Documents/TomTom/Home/Backup).
     

    Attached Files:

    FitzG, Nov 25, 2018
    #17
  18. FitzG

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,100
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    You unfortunately made it with HOME, not directly to the PC where it would then have shown as a separate drive letter.
    You are now in the hands of canderson who is the only one who can help you if at all possible.
     
    Arno, Nov 25, 2018
    #18
  19. FitzG

    FitzG

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 540 TM
    There is a separate device letter is 'F'. If you look to the far left/bottom of the attached file you'll see TomTom (F: drive
     
    FitzG, Nov 25, 2018
    #19
  20. FitzG

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,444
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    OK. I see you have a 'Western_and_Central_Europe_2GB' folder. If that is properly populated with files, you should be OK when we're done.
    Copy THAT folder to another location on your PC so that it's safe.
    Now, have a peek inside. Should be some big files there called cline.dat, cnode.dat and cname.dat. If they are indeed present, then we can start you up from scratch with fresh firmware and overlay those map files on the result. That should get you up and running again.
    Please confirm.
     
    canderson, Nov 25, 2018
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.