Going on Vacation to Cuba

TomTom Model(s)
ONE v2
Hey gang,

I just wanted to let everyone know that I'll be going on vacation on Dec. 16 to Dec. 24 so I won't be on till I get back. I'll be going to Varadero, Cuba staying at the Playa Caleta hotel.

Anyone have any general tips for me? This is my first time in Cuba and am very excited to go.

oh men i lost my post , ok in summary as a cuban i advice you not to take a gps or a cellphone or pda with a gps with you. they will seize it at the border although you can get it back when you return to canada. but is a hassle.

enjoy your stay in cuba, in my opinion , the best piece of land and best human beings on earth and i have being living not only in canada but also in Spain. but beware of your surroundings and everybody else around you when outside the resort, it is not a paradise either.

I have been to Cuba twice. Great people and beautiful country. Do not take a GPS. Not allowed in. Watch for counterfeit cigars sold on the beaches and the streets. Banding and boxes and seals look real, but they are probably fake. They will be taken away from you as you leave Cuba. Buy only the real ones and you are OK. Most hotels have an official cigar store on the premises or close by. Ask your tour rep for advice on cigars.

Enjoy yourself.

oh men i lost my post , ok in summary as a cuban i advice you not to take a gps or a cellphone or pda with a gps with you. they will seize it at the border although you can get it back when you return to canada. but is a hassle.

enjoy your stay in cuba, in my opinion , the best piece of land and best human beings on earth and i have being living not only in canada but also in Spain. but beware of your surroundings and everybody else around you when outside the resort, it is not a paradise either.

Why do they seize GPS units or phones with GPS? Just curious.

--Phil

I just saw this thread.
Neel, I hope you have a good trip. If you have access to the internet there, I hope you see this.