GO920 burned out component - help identify

TomTom Model(s)
GO920
Hi,

My girlfriend's TomTom Go920 burned out while in use and I thought I'd have a go at repairing it. Taking it apart, immediately brought my eye (and my nose) to the problem - a burned out component. The problem is - I don't know what it is.

It looks like it's a resistor R117 but it seems to be polarised so not sure if it is one. Could either be a diode or a capacitor - I am not that good with SM components. On top are markings "470 6h".

I've attached the image with the failed component (PCB picture stolen from the web). What is it, where can I get it (or equivalents) and what other components would I be wise to change around this area?

Thanks
Alex

Attachments

• 920T_PCB_Back-c.jpg
    920T_PCB_Back-c.jpg
    149.2 KB · Views: 998
The component you circled is a 470uF capacitor (polarized, as you noted). However, I'm surprised you identified that. FAR more common is the smoking of the immediate neighbor to the north, D5, which is a 5.6V zener (cathode end 'down', towards your capacitor).

I should note that there seems to be a fairly strong correlation between smoked D5 parts and defective car chargers. If you decide for whatever reason that it's D5, be sure to replace the car charger, too.

Thanks for the reply. Nope, the D5 zenner diode seems OK. It's this capacitor that burned out and basically crumbled to pieces. See attached image - I literally touched it and fell apart. Everything around it looks black from soot but, presumably, undamaged.

If I replace this capacitor, is it worth replacing the zenner as well? What is the voltage rating on the capacitor and can I replace it with any standard one or does it have to be some special type?

Attachments

• IMAG0401.jpg
    IMAG0401.jpg
    143.7 KB · Views: 750
Yikes! Yes, that one is toast. Or WAS toast. Now it's not much of anything!