Go750

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by Alatel, Mar 25, 2011.

  1. Alatel

    Alatel

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO750
    Go750 Operation

    Hi
    Could anyone answer the following questions?

    1 When you view a programmed route on your TomTom is it actual? i.e . If there is an intersection which should display "Lane Assist" would it display it or only display when you drive down the road?

    2. If there used to be a "Speed Camera" at a location and you deleted it on the unit, would it still indicate and alarm untill TomTom updates?

    3. If you added a NEW "Speed Camera" location, does the unit remember for future notification or does it only advise TomTom?

    Cheers
    Alan
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2011
    Alatel, Mar 25, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Alatel

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    If you mean when running a "demo" of the route, then yes, I can confirm the display is just the same as if you were driving for real, so as you approach junctions in the demo, the display changes to show Advanced Lane Guidance (the arrows at the bottom) or Reality View (the full screen petty picture) when available.

    I' afraid I can't answer Q's 2+3 because I prefer to use a better camera database and warnings than TomTom's own poor effort.
     
    Andy_P, Mar 25, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Alatel

    Alatel

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO750
    Go 750 Operation

    Do you have any suggestion why my 750 does NOT show "Lane Guidance" in the Status Bar.
    (Menu / Change Preferences / Status bar preferences / Show lane guidance is ticked).

    Cheers
     
    Alatel, Mar 26, 2011
    #3
  4. Alatel

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,026
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    You need to tap that icon and have it say Hide Lane images.
     
    dhn, Mar 26, 2011
    #4
  5. Alatel

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    Sorry, dhn, that setting is not an icon but a tickbox.... ;)

    @Alatel... A couple of things...

    1. the "Advanced Lane Guidance" (to give it it's full name) is the little arrows in the status bar, while the rest of the screen stays the same,
    It doesn't appear at EVERY junction, so if you live in a very out-of-the-way place it might not be in the map data.
    (I don't know how big Wellington is!)
    Can you give an example of a junction (preferably in Lat/Long. coordinates) so someone else with the Australia mapping can check for you if the ALG is there?

    Or
    2. Were you actually thinking of the "Reality View" images?
    Reality View is the full-screen pictures showing the junction like a cartoon, replacing the normal navigation view for a while.
    The Reality View images are available for even fewer junctions.
    They are also switched on or off in a DIFFERENT tick-box ("show lane images" in Change Preferences page 7 / Advanced Preferences.

    If it's still not working, have you tried a reset or a return to factory settings?
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2011
    Andy_P, Mar 26, 2011
    #5
  6. Alatel

    Alatel

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO750
    HI Andy

    Thank you, you have answered another of my questions with your reply to dhn, I was wondering about "that" icon which the manual reffers to.

    S41 degrees 143.866 minutes E174 degrees 48.823 minutes
    This is the co-ordinates of the intersection of SH1 and SH2.

    1. The ALG is NOT working and I know it should be working at the junction of SH1 & SH2 as I have seen it working on an XL250 and VIA160.
    When heading North on SH2 from City = Wellington, Street = Aotea Quay Interchange to City = Lower Hutt, Street = Jackson Street, anywhere.

    2. As it happens "Reality View" is also NOT working which also worked on the XL250 and VIA160.

    I have ticked the checkbox in the Advanced Preferences on page 7.

    I have also tried Reset (holding OFF/ON switch for 15 sec) and reset to Factory defaults and checking checkboxes.

    Just a bit more info,
    I bought this unit secondhand because of the limitations of new models and I suspect that the previous owner may have been into the files as the "Statup" screen is a picture of flowers and NOT a TomTom Logo and if I select change picture I am advised that there are no other pictures.

    Thanking you in anticipation
    Cheers
    Alan
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2011
    Alatel, Mar 26, 2011
    #6
  7. Alatel

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    What map version do you have? (see here)

    The latest is version 865, and lane guidance has been added at a rapid pace over the past year. It's possible the missing guidance is due to an old map.

    More startup images can be downloaded in Tomtom HOME (download startup/shutdown images). Or you can manually put pictures in the \photos folder on the Tomtom drive.
     
    mvl, Mar 29, 2011
    #7
  8. Alatel

    Alatel

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO750
    Version Information advises

    TomTom GO
    App 9.053.520930.1
    Map: 'New Zealand' v840.2562

    Cheers
     
    Alatel, Mar 29, 2011
    #8
  9. Alatel

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,026
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Map 840 is 15 months old now and probably does not contain any ALG data. In Canada, there wasn't any serious ALG information until 845 and it has improved with each release since then.

    I guess a map update is in order?
     
    dhn, Mar 29, 2011
    #9
  10. Alatel

    Alatel

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO750
    Hi dhn

    I see you have NZ map 835 on your device.

    Does it show ALG for thr intersection advised in my earlier post?

    S41 degrees 143.866 minutes E174 degrees 48.823 minutes
    This is the co-ordinates of the intersection of SH1 and SH2.

    1. The ALG is NOT working and I know it should be working at the junction of SH1 & SH2 as I have seen it working on an XL250 and VIA160.
    When heading North on SH2 from City = Wellington, Street = Aotea Quay Interchange to City = Lower Hutt, Street = Jackson Street, anywhere.

    Cheers
     
    Alatel, Mar 29, 2011
    #10
  11. Alatel

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,026
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    In truth, it was my wife who used the unit in NZ (just got back from there after 5 weeks). She used the unit only a couple of times and honestly doesn't remember whether she saw it or not. (I would doubt it ...)

    Give me about 10 minutes or so to see if I can get to that location using Advanced Planning (I can't use the Navigate function since the unit is back in Canada).
     
    dhn, Mar 29, 2011
    #11
  12. Alatel

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,026
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Can you give me a starting point (town prreferably) for the Advanced Planning so I can run a demo. Try to make it close to the junction you want)
     
    dhn, Mar 29, 2011
    #12
  13. Alatel

    Alatel

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO750
    On the 750 you can plan a route then run a "Demo" of the route which, I have been told will show the ALG and fancy view.
     
    Alatel, Mar 29, 2011
    #13
  14. Alatel

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,026
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Okay, did a demo of this route:

    and definitely did NOT see ALG at the interchange of SH1 and SH2.
     
    dhn, Mar 29, 2011
    #14
  15. Alatel

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    So I think we were right to say earlier that your map is simply too old to have ALG on it. Your other devices have newer maps so they DO have it.
    Make sense?
     
    Andy_P, Mar 29, 2011
    #15
  16. Alatel

    Alatel

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO750
    My access has been fixed, so I can post again :)

    Well it looks like the problem with the Wellington instersection is the age of the map. (from what I can gather Map:840 is only 15 months old !!!)

    I havel tried some simulating on the Auckland motorway and do NOT get any fancy pictures or ALG.

    Auckland Motorway junctions are more important to me as I know the Wellington intersections but always have trouble getting off the Auckland motorways at the correct location.

    Thanks for everyones assistance.

    dhn - if you ever get bored or have nothing to do, you could try some Auckland motorway junctions (I have seen a junction displayed showing Symonds Street exit on a TomTom advertisement.)

    Will keep you informed.

    Again thanks for all assistance

    Cheers

    Alan
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2011
    Alatel, Mar 31, 2011
    #16
  17. Alatel

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    Reality View and ALG were first introduced in mid 2008 (with the Go x30 models) but imagine the amount of work that needed to be done to the existing mapping to include all the extra lane information which was never needed before (one of the reasons maps have got much bigger?).

    I guess it may have taken a while longer to do Australia/New Zealand because the market is smaller than the US and Europe?
     
    Andy_P, Mar 31, 2011
    #17
  18. Alatel

    Aiken Drum

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Florida
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL550TM
    Just to help make things murkier than they already are, New Zealand map 840.2562 has ALG, as I understand it ALG is just the arrows and not the pretty pictures which is called "Reality View" and is dangerous to rely on.

    For New Zealand 835 maps
    835.2419 has ALG
    835.2394 no ALG

    The source for this info is not TomTom.
    Anyone have an official TomTom map compatibility chart or know where to find one?
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2011
    Aiken Drum, Mar 31, 2011
    #18
  19. Alatel

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    Lane Guidance was technically available a couple of years ago, but there were very very few roads that had it.

    Tomtom's been adding it to more roads each quarterly release, at different paces in different countries. So there's no single date of release.
     
    mvl, Apr 1, 2011
    #19
  20. Alatel

    Alatel

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO750
    Hi

    Thanks Aiken Drum, I thought I was sorted !!! Thank you for your input, I think???

    When I run "DEMO' routes I only get general Direction arrows in the Status not individual Lane arrows without the pretty pictures.

    As it happens, I have to go to Auckland on the 11th April maybe I will delay updating my maps until after that day, as I will be flying from Wellington to Auckland then driving North of Auckland over the harbour bridge and I should be able to see if map version 840:2562 shows ALG or anything else.

    The first roads in New Zealand to have ALG on maps would have been on the Auckland motorway.

    If I update my maps could I download updated maps and load the latest onto the SD card and be able to switch between them ? that way I could check both.
    Cheers
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2011
    Alatel, Apr 1, 2011
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.