Go750 SD card not recognised

TomTom Model(s)
GO750 Australia
I have been using the Go 750 Australia for about 15 months with now only the Australia maps installed. I originally had also installed the southern Africa maps but have taken them off and saved them to my system. I recently purchased the USA_Canada maps and they are sitting in my Home waiting to install but I got the "Insufficient space". OK, so I then, very foolishly, purchased the appropriate MicroSD 4gb card and adapter from Tom Tom, but my unit will not recognise it.

After many long evenings with emails to and from Support they eventually conceded that the fault must lie in my Go750, something that I could have told them five days before. Oh, and the unit is out of warranty. What?? It must have been faulty from new but I never tried to use that function before. BTW I use it very infrequently here in Aust and it is stored in my home office.

I ran every test and every suggestion that Support advised. The MicroSD card reads as formatted FAT32 & 3.6gb in a card reader. A new card I purchased here is not recognised by the unit either, but I now see that one to be a fast Class 4 card which I understand will not work, or not well, in my unit. The computer man near work was able to read the text on the card sold to me by Tom Tom and he advises me that one is a slow card.

So, I phoned the repairer advised by TT and the response was "Send $90 and the unit and we will then have a look at it and give you a quote. The $90 will go toward the repair costs." My costs so far exceed what it would cost to hire a GPS for the few days I will be hiring a car in North America, so no thank you.