GO520 EUROPE TRUCK SD CARD

Discussion in 'Hardware and Peripherals' started by Bruce Lincoln, Feb 26, 2016.

  1. Bruce Lincoln

    Bruce Lincoln

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grimsby
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520
    Hello, I'm having a battle with my TTgo520, I have the Europe Truck SD card which i purchased from TT. However because of memory problems, I have tried to clone the card, through my PC to a 8gb SDHC card.

    It all seems to have transfered ok ( ie all the files on both cards seem identical ) but when the new card is in the device - it defaults to the car mode, and will not allow the Europe Map, and the truck attributes ( ie low bridges etc )

    The Europe Truck file is definately on the new card - it just doesnt want to allow it.

    I feel that maybe I have used the wrong sort of memory card, or that the Europe truck card cannot be copied ??

    Can anyone please suggest a solution.
     
    Bruce Lincoln, Feb 26, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Bruce Lincoln

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Is your new card a microSD.
    I think even in the later x30 series it had to be a plain SDHC.

    canderson will probably give an authoritative answer.
     
    Arno, Feb 26, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Bruce Lincoln

    Bruce Lincoln

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grimsby
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520
    The new card is an 8gb SDHC , but ive just noticed that the TT EuropeTruck card is a micro card inside the adapter - would this make any difference ??
     
    Bruce Lincoln, Feb 26, 2016
    #3
  4. Bruce Lincoln

    Bruce Lincoln

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grimsby
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520
    Just another thought .... the Europe Truck sd card was quite expensive (as much as the GO520) ... so maybe TT have put a code in the SD card to stop it being copied.
     
    Bruce Lincoln, Feb 26, 2016
    #4
  5. Bruce Lincoln

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,044
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Call support to see what they say:

    United Kingdom
    02079 490 134
    Monday - Friday: 9:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
     
    dhn, Feb 26, 2016
    #5
  6. Bruce Lincoln

    Bruce Lincoln

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grimsby
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520
    Thanks - i will give them a call on Monday.
     
    Bruce Lincoln, Feb 26, 2016
    #6
  7. Bruce Lincoln

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,953
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    I don't think it's possible to 'clone' any TomTom map that was provided on an SD card. The card's own internal serial number is used to lock that map to that card so that it can't be pirated.
    Not sure how tech support is going to be able to help resolve this. Might be a good idea to see if we can pare down your memory problem first.
     
    canderson, Feb 27, 2016
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.