Go Discover and Bluetooth


Joined
Aug 24, 2021
Messages
5
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
Go Live 1005
Hi All, I have a Go Live 1005, which I've loved, but which I now need to replace. About 3 years ago, I bought the Go 6200, which I found slow and unresponsive, so sold it on. I'm now looking at the Go Discover, which might meet my needs.

But one question I have concerns Bluetooth. I know that the Go Discover will need to get its Live Traffic data from my smartphone (which the 6200 didn't, as that model had a built-in SIM). But will I still be able to use the Bluetooth hands-free with my car's system to make phone calls? ie, can my (Android) smartphone be simultaneously connected by Bluetooth to the Go Discover (for data) and the car (for calls)?

Thanks
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,571
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Your Discover can obtain traffic data from your phone when your phone is configured either as a Bluetooth or WiFi "hot spot", other times known as 'tethering'.
My own Android phone (Samsung S20) is perfectly happy connecting with my vehicle's BT hands free audio at the same time it is managing traffic data for my Discover. That said, I almost ALWAYS use the WiFi connectivity between my phone and Discover since I have the WiFi hotspot on the phone running for other purposes, so I may not be the best source. That said, no reason you can't do it just like I do and not have to worry over what all is connected to BT. You can just have the phone alone connected to your vehicle that way, and leave the traffic to WiFi.
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2021
Messages
5
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
Go Live 1005
Update...

I bought the Go Discover, and did get it to tether to my phone while the Android phone (Sony Xperia XZ3) was connected to the car's BT. However, it was temperamental - when it worked, it was great. But it didn't seem at all reliable in connecting to the Go Discover. So after 3 months of will-it-won't-it connect today, I gave up and sold it on (the Go Discover not the phone!). I'm currently using a Garmin (as they get their Traffic data through the power lead), but will probably have to go back to a TT with built-in SIM (such as the 5200/6200).
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,571
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Update...

I bought the Go Discover, and did get it to tether to my phone while the Android phone (Sony Xperia XZ3) was connected to the car's BT. However, it was temperamental - when it worked, it was great. But it didn't seem at all reliable in connecting to the Go Discover. So after 3 months of will-it-won't-it connect today, I gave up and sold it on (the Go Discover not the phone!). I'm currently using a Garmin (as they get their Traffic data through the power lead), but will probably have to go back to a TT with built-in SIM (such as the 5200/6200).
Probably a good idea. TomTom also sells an RDS capable power lead, but RDS isn't nearly as good as either TT's nor Garmin's 'live' traffic data. There aren't enough 'bits' in the data to produce information on many smaller roads, and doesn't resolve the data to nearly as small a stretch of roads that are covered.
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2021
Messages
5
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
Go Live 1005
Probably a good idea. TomTom also sells an RDS capable power lead, but RDS isn't nearly as good as either TT's nor Garmin's 'live' traffic data. There aren't enough 'bits' in the data to produce information on many smaller roads, and doesn't resolve the data to nearly as small a stretch of roads that are covered.
Thanks canderson, I think TT have all but given up on sat nav. Such a shame to see a once exceptional company going this way... I have 3 Garmins, but cannot seem to finally drop TT. I have sourced a 5200 but that will be my last ever TT.
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,571
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
I meant to ask .. it almost sounded in post #4 as though you were using BT tethering rather than the WiFi that I had recommended. BT can get really flaky, even with Android, when still connected to other devices concurrently. Did you try a straight WiFi tether? I use it all the time without issues on my Android phone. If you haven't tried that solution, I will again recommend it over and above either TomTom or Garmin's RDS traffic service - just because RDS is a technologically inferior solution vs. either company's 'live' data.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Aug 24, 2021
Messages
5
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
Go Live 1005
Looking at the settings for my phone, they are BT Tethering and Portable Hotspot (which I guess is the WiFi hotspot you referred to). But it was the BT tethering I used.

Oh well, if I still had the Go Discover I would be able to try that, but as I said, I have moved it on.

Thanks again for your help.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top