Go 730 Power Setting - Screen Dim does not work

Discussion in 'System Configuration and Customization' started by TR7Driver, Mar 17, 2012.

  1. TR7Driver

    TR7Driver

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jersey Shore, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 730, XL IQ Routes Edition, VIA 1605
    I have a GO 730 with the current (new) navcore software, just installed. This is not a new problem, but I always set the power settings to dim the screen between instructions to save battery power. Except for a brief period a couple of years ago, this has NEVER worked! The screen stays lit even when the next instruction is 50 or 60 miles away (and yes, this is often the case in the Western US) and Susie won't have anything to say for an hour or more.

    This is about the only feature on this great unit that steadfastly refuses to work. Am I doing something wrong or is this simply a useless feature?
     
    TR7Driver, Mar 17, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. TR7Driver

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,130
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    What is the brightness setting on the unit under normal conditions?
     
    dhn, Mar 17, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. TR7Driver

    TR7Driver

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jersey Shore, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 730, XL IQ Routes Edition, VIA 1605
    About 65% daytime, 10% night. Whatever the default setting is, I never changed it.

    And as if on cue, the dimming between instructions feature is now working, but only when the unit is operating on internal battery and it was unplugged when you turned it on. That's fine as it is internal battery power you're trying to preserve.

    I guess sometimes you just have to complain about something and it fixes itself. :lol:
     
    TR7Driver, Mar 18, 2012
    #3
  4. TR7Driver

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,204
    Likes Received:
    201
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    That feature ("Dim screen between instructions") is only supposed to work when on battery power. If connected to external power, it should be ignored.

    Are you expecting it to work when connected to external power?
     
    canderson, Mar 18, 2012
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.