Go 730 - Doesn't like phone numbers starting with "*"

My 730 will not correctly dial a number starting with an asterisk. Some of my numbers are entered as:

*31#1234567890

And it dials them as:

31#1234567890

Any ideas?

Are you trying to enter it by hand, or use an existing entry that came across in the TomTom from another device?

I'm really curious -- whose mobile plan requires you to use an "*" to dial an international number? My mobile experience is limited to a couple of companies, so I've never run across that one! It may be possible to manage this one "manually" in a POI.

Calling back to TomTom to give 'em heck? They'd be a +31...

I'm an on-call network engineer and have to call customers from my cell. I don't want them getting my personal cell phone number so my phone defaults to blocking caller ID. The *31# is a GSM standard to force the caller ID to be displayed, such as when calling my wife, friends, etc.

Works fine when I manually dial from the TT or the phone. It's when I try to use the address book to dial from the TT that I get the error. I also tried using the Unix trick of putting a \ in front of the character so it would be treated literally but that didn't work.

Also, I can't seem to use a number that has a "p" in it, such as dialing an number with an AVR and then an extension.

I have a case open with them but haven't heard anything back.

I'm an on-call network engineer and have to call customers from my cell. I don't want them getting my personal cell phone number so my phone defaults to blocking caller ID. The *31# is a GSM standard to force the caller ID to be displayed, such as when calling my wife, friends, etc.

Works fine when I manually dial from the TT or the phone. It's when I try to use the address book to dial from the TT that I get the error. I also tried using the Unix trick of putting a \ in front of the character so it would be treated literally but that didn't work.