Go 620

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by sean1959, Jul 14, 2017.

  1. sean1959

    sean1959

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    620
    sean1959, Jul 14, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. sean1959

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,976
    Likes Received:
    441
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Are you saying the truck sat sav has WiFi functionality? If so, you can add maps using the WiFi.
     
    dhn, Jul 14, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. sean1959

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,816
    Likes Received:
    177
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    You've shown us a map of Europe in your link, but I assume you want a TomTom unit that covers that area with 'truck' map service.

    The exact model is called the GO 620 Professional. See this link >> https://www.tomtom.com/en_gb/sat-nav/truck-sat-nav/products/go-professional-620/
    Not only does it give you truck map data (you input various vehicle configuration information so that you're not driving into the wrong areas for height, etc.), it also updates via WiFi as you would like. Take a look at the link.
     
    canderson, Jul 15, 2017
    #3
  4. sean1959

    sean1959

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    620
    I already have the Go 620 but want to have truck maps loaded onto it which seems to be my cheapest option. However in my link it says after purchase I need to connect my device to the computer (does seem possible?) so my question again is:- can I download the maps to a SD card and insert into my Go 620 without any problems? £104 is still a lot of money just to try.
     
    sean1959, Jul 15, 2017
    #4
  5. sean1959

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,816
    Likes Received:
    177
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    You would need the version of the GO620 that has the firmware that allows for input of the parameters for the vehicle and can interpret truck maps. It sounds like you have a normal consumer unit, and that won't include that level of firmware. I'd call tech support to see if there is anything they can do for you to update the 620 you have to the 'Truck' version, but I don't hold out much hope.
     
    canderson, Jul 15, 2017
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.