GO 520 gets to waiting for device and stays there!!!!

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by kiaboy, Jan 9, 2019.

  1. kiaboy

    kiaboy

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 520
    Just downloaded the latest updates of community and Speed cameras, all downloaded OK to Laptop, but will not go passed waiting for device, this never completes. Any one have any ideas on what the fault is? I have carried out hard reset of device and re-installing Drive Connect. I have also tried to install on another laptop but get the same problem
    Thanks in advance
     
    kiaboy, Jan 9, 2019
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. kiaboy

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,875
    Likes Received:
    430
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Try support then:

    [​IMG] United Kingdom
    02079 490 132
    Monday - Friday: 9:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.

    But isn't that a WiFi model? If so, it doesn't rely upon MyDriveConnect. All updates should be done on the device using WiFi. If WiFi is not available, then you can use the usb cable that came with the device connected to the computer with MyDriveConnect running BUT minimized.
     
    dhn, Jan 9, 2019
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. kiaboy

    kiaboy

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 520
    It isn't the WiFi model, something must be going on as I am not able to see my model on the drop down box, the earlier Go 520 is there, but mine is the one with lifetime world maps and speed cameras. As for contacting Support I have spent ages trying to navigate to get to sending message but unable to. I have had no warning that TT are no longer supporting my model so I am in a mess at the moment as I can not message TT to find out so that's why I thought I would try here....
     
    kiaboy, Jan 9, 2019
    #3
  4. kiaboy

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,875
    Likes Received:
    430
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    If your model's serial number starts with M2 or M4 then indeed it is an older Nav2 device which has been decreed as End of Life by Tomtom, meaning no further map (or any other) updates.
     
    dhn, Jan 9, 2019
    #4
  5. kiaboy

    kiaboy

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 520
    Thanks for your info, I can confirm having checked at the bottom of the device, my Model is 4F A50 4FA5.001.06 Serial No: QX6145K01266. The Go 520 that is shown on TT Website shows the older model which I agree is out of date, but does not show mine, very strange as it did a few months ago, I can only assume TT have cocked up and removed it.

    I would appreciate any email address anyone might have so I can contact them and get this investigated

    Thanks
     
    kiaboy, Jan 10, 2019
    #5
  6. kiaboy

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,875
    Likes Received:
    430
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Try calling:

    [​IMG] United Kingdom
    02079 490 132
    Monday - Friday: 9:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.

    Don't respond with a model when prompted in order for a live agent to reply.
     
    dhn, Jan 10, 2019
    #6
  7. kiaboy

    kiaboy

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 520
    I don't understand your advice as I have no way of getting to the live agent. I would greatly appreciate any links you have to help me. Recently I have found the TT website to be very user unfriendly. I have no way of asking a question there.. :(
     
    kiaboy, Jan 10, 2019
    #7
  8. kiaboy

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,238
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    What happens when you dial the phone number dhn gave you?
     
    Arno, Jan 10, 2019
    #8
  9. kiaboy

    kiaboy

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 520
    Whoops missed that I thought it was part of his Avatar. :rolleyes:

    Thought his message "Don't respond with a model when prompted in order for a live agent to reply". was all he posted.....
     
    kiaboy, Jan 10, 2019
    #9
  10. kiaboy

    kiaboy

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 520
    UPDATE.
    I do not know how I have done it but I have managed to navigate to ask a question on the TT website by using GO5000/5100
     
    kiaboy, Jan 10, 2019
    #10
  11. kiaboy

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,646
    Likes Received:
    168
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    What's odd is that a QX serial number (per my magic master list) comes up as a Nav4 GO 500 or 510, not a Nav4 GO 520. So I think the OP may be confusing us with the wrong model number. Only the 520 would have WiFi. The 500 and 510 do not. That changes the updating method considerably.
     
    canderson, Jan 10, 2019
    #11
  12. kiaboy

    kiaboy

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 520
    I am so sorry, you are so right and feel rather embarrassed now, I inserted GO 520 and it should have been GO 510, so have mis-lead all replies. :oops:

    My problem still exists.
     
    kiaboy, Jan 11, 2019
    #12
  13. kiaboy

    kiaboy

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 520
    UPDATE!!
    I have just plugged my device into my laptop and the downloads have installed :D SO can only assume TT had an issue with the download files.
    I have not had any replies from TT customer services as yet.

    Thanks for your help
     
    kiaboy, Jan 11, 2019
    #13
  14. kiaboy

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,238
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    As a feedback the GO 510 and 520 have completely different hardware inside.

    Also, many persons experience server problems over the last few day although it seems to be corrected now.
     
    Arno, Jan 11, 2019
    #14
    kiaboy likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.