Get opening screen, can get no further

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by Cynthia, Feb 28, 2016.

  1. Cynthia

    Cynthia

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    VIA 135M
    I hardly use my Tomtom, but I keep it updated. When I wanted to use it today it switches on, 8 had it charging over night, but then I got the message no maps. So I went through the update procedure. aFter this I get the TOMTom screen and cannot get off it. I then found instructions to do the emergency recovery mode, where you hold, then get the black screen with writing, press the button three times etc, and I got through the whole of that until the computer said OK to unplug. BUT I still only get the start screen.

    Is it something simple like I have to connect the TOMtom to the car and get on the road and then switch it on. I have spend hours reading various things but they make no sense to me. Certainly it was all alright when last I used it, I may have used it three times only.

    I really would appreciate some help after tearing out my hair all day!! I am using Wndows 7, have updated the software as suggested.

    thank you. Cynthia
     
    Cynthia, Feb 28, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Cynthia

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,130
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Try a drum reset on the unit by holding the power button about 20 seconds till you hear the drum sounds.
     
    dhn, Feb 28, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Cynthia

    Cynthia

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    VIA 135M
    I've done this several times, and this is what you do to get to the recovery mode which I outlined above.
     
    Cynthia, Feb 28, 2016
    #3
  4. Cynthia

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,200
    Likes Received:
    201
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    No, it's not the same. For recovery mode, you hold the button down until you see the white on black text diagnostic screen.
    To reboot, you must let go of the button as soon as you see the logo and hear the drums. It's only if you continue to hold after that that you will get to the diagnostic screen.
     
    canderson, Feb 28, 2016
    #4
  5. Cynthia

    Cynthia

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    VIA 135M
    Hello Canderson.

    I did as you suggested but nothing changed, so I switched my mind off for the night! This morning, I switched on the Tomtom and it said No Maps available message which is what it started off saying yesterday, I plugged it into my computer, it showed connected and an update available, I let that install and now it appears to be working. I will check it out on the road, but at least I am getting it to open.

    Thank you very much for your help.
     
    Cynthia, Feb 29, 2016
    #5
  6. Cynthia

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,200
    Likes Received:
    201
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    Very good. Glad to hear that this worked and that it was not necessary to delete from your PC the files from the previous attempt in order to get the installation started again. Sometimes that happens, too.
     
    canderson, Feb 29, 2016
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.