Georgia on my mind!!

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by dede468, Jan 11, 2014.

  1. dede468

    dede468

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    start 60
    I have the europe map on my start 60 and on checking the eastern europe map I find the same problem - no mention of the republic of Georgia although all the countries around it are listed. Of course, I'm off to live in Georgia!! Does this mean my start 60 is useless to me or is there another way to get Georgia on my device? As it is all of the external roads stop dead at the Georgia border and the satellite image turns to the road view before the satellite image can be zoomed in.
     
    dede468, Jan 11, 2014
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. dede468

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,883
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    You're correct, Georgia isn't included. Garmin isn't very helpful, either (see link >> https://buy.garmin.com/en-GB/GB/prod6299.html?pvID=7876#coverageTab ) -- not in Europe, not included in Middle East, and they don't add it with their Russian map, either.

    I assume if you're moving to Georgia that you are capable of managing the Cyrillic alphabet that is (ahem) also often used in the area. You'd be better picking up a unit locally, I'm afraid. I had thought that Autosputnik offered one with a Georgian map, but it looks like I was mistaken about that, too.
     
    canderson, Jan 11, 2014
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. dede468

    tgold

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Miami Beach FL, New York NY and London UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    Android apps.
    tgold, Jan 11, 2014
    #3
  4. dede468

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    EU-Georgia- Armenia.jpg I am afraid Georgia and Armenia are not included in the map of Europe.
     
    Arno, Jan 11, 2014
    #4
  5. dede468

    dede468

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    start 60
    Thanks for the info re the Georgia map. Sadly my Start 60 hasn't yet been used at all... maybe now I have to move it on without using it. Cyrillic isn't used so much in Georgia. It is occasionally on some signs due to previous Russian occupation but normally they use a version of Asomtavruli [ ასომთავრული ]. :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2014
    dede468, Jan 12, 2014
    #5
  6. dede468

    dede468

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    start 60
    dede468, Jan 12, 2014
    #6
  7. dede468

    dede468

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    start 60
    I wonder why they have left a gap yet provided all of the bordering countries?
     
    dede468, Jan 12, 2014
    #7
  8. dede468

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,883
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Understood, but I have never seen a map for that area with a Georgian script, only Russian, since the device was made in Russia for Russian travelers to Georgia. If you ever do run across a true Georgian language unit, get back to us with that info, will you?
     
    canderson, Jan 12, 2014
    #8
  9. dede468

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Probably a question of where the Ural mountains end at the bottom.
    The Urals seem to be the generally accepted division between Europe and Asia.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Europe
     
    Arno, Jan 12, 2014
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.