Examine memory on VIA 1505M

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by cee-eff, Mar 18, 2017.

  1. cee-eff

    cee-eff

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    VIA 1505M
    I have a VIA 1505M that wouldn't load new maps because cust svc told me the unit doesn't have enough internal memory to support new maps. I installed a Class 10 64GB micro SD card and the maps loaded. However, cust svc told me only 32GB SD cards will work. This leads me to ask two questions:

    1. How can I examine my unit's memory with MyDrive Connect? On one screen two bars show internal and external memory totals and memory used but it does not display what files are loaded in either. I'd like to know what's stored on each memory type.

    2. Has anyone successfully installed a 64GB micro SD card on their VIA device? It seems to me if a 32GB card works a 64GB card should also work, unless a memory access limit is imposed by the device's software.

    Thanks,

    CF
     
    cee-eff, Mar 18, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. cee-eff

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,861
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930
    1. The only thing you can check is used and free space and what and where items are installed when you click My Content in MyDrive Connect. It will not tell you what is where (internal or SD).

    2. I cannot answer but if you see you 64 GB card in My Content and it is similar to one of the items below you may have an approximation.

    You should be getting better info from the others, once they see your posy.
     
    Arno, Mar 18, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. cee-eff

    cee-eff

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    VIA 1505M
    Thanks for your response, Arno. I tried to examine the SD card on my Mac but the card is in a format Macs can't read. While the card was out of the GPS I turned to GPS on and only saw the European map, not the US/Canada/Mexico map. I turned the GPS off, reinstalled the card in the GPS, turned it back on and, voila, the US/Canada/Mexico map appeared. So it looks like the 64GB card is being used by the GPS, contrary to TomTom tech support saying it wouldn't work.
     
    cee-eff, Mar 18, 2017
    #3
  4. cee-eff

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,445
    Likes Received:
    397
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Well, coulda fooled me as well. I was of the understanding that the TomTom applications don't work with 64 gb cards, regardless of brand.
     
    dhn, Mar 19, 2017
    #4
  5. cee-eff

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,137
    Likes Received:
    146
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Yes, starting with these Nav3 devices, external cards are formatted in a most peculiar way. They're typically broken into one or more (more, in your case) 2GB DOS files. Those files are actually very old style Linux 2GB partitions. ext2, as I recall. Your Mac should be able to see the files, but would have zero idea of what to do with them.
     
    canderson, Mar 19, 2017
    #5
  6. cee-eff

    cee-eff

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    VIA 1505M
    When I'm in Mydrive Connect and list accessories for my GPS what do I see?? See pic.
    THAT'S WHY I BOUGHT THE 64GB CARD!!!! :mad:

    TomTom has to get their story straight - either stop advertising accessories their products won't support or tell their reps what accessories their products will support. TomTom SD cards.png
     
    cee-eff, Mar 19, 2017
    #6
  7. cee-eff

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,861
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930
    Did you call TomTom Customer Support and they told you that?
     
    Arno, Mar 19, 2017
    #7
  8. cee-eff

    cee-eff

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    VIA 1505M
    Yes, I did. The rep was emphatic about my GPS not being able to support a card larger than 32GB, even though I told him a 64GB was an option on their site. And, he said it had to be a specific type: Class 10, SDHC, etc. (lost my note:oops:, or threw it away.) Maybe they just wanted me to overpay for one of their accessories.


    BTW, my GPS seems to read the 64GB card just fine. I removed the card again, turned the GPS on and it displayed my position in the middle of an ocean. Shut down, reinstalled the card, turned back on, GPS displayed "Reading Memory Card", let me choose my preferred map, then correctly displayed my position on the map.
     
    cee-eff, Mar 19, 2017
    #8
  9. cee-eff

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,137
    Likes Received:
    146
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Well, the tech got one thing right. We do also recommend minimum Class 10. That seems to be fast enough to keep up with the device nicely.
    What's unusual, I guess, is to have a reason to go to a 64GB card. AFAIK, you can take the entire world of TomTom maps, even those with the embedded '3D' building data in them, and stuff them on a 32GB card with plenty of room left over for custom stuff.
     
    canderson, Mar 19, 2017
    #9
  10. cee-eff

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,861
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930
    Arno, Mar 19, 2017
    #10
  11. cee-eff

    cee-eff

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    VIA 1505M
    @canderson
    Not knowing the amount of memory inside the GPS and not knowing sizes of current or future maps or features I went with the "the more memory the better" philosophy.
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2017
    cee-eff, Mar 19, 2017
    #11
  12. cee-eff

    cee-eff

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    VIA 1505M
    @ Arno
    IMHO the whole website sucks. Content and navigation are very poor at best. Sometimes clicking an option sends me into never-never land. There should be links from one TomTom site to another instead of having separate logins for account info and MyDrive Connect and the forum.
     
    cee-eff, Mar 19, 2017
    #12
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. Starhammer
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    5,465
    su_A_ve
    Mar 30, 2009
  2. cvoce

    720 memory full - can't get it to use memory card

    cvoce, May 25, 2010, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    2,887
    c4791p
    May 25, 2010
  3. wjlelectric

    Internal Memory & Memory Card Question

    wjlelectric, Oct 26, 2010, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    2,487
    wjlelectric
    Oct 29, 2010
  4. Hulk77777

    550M XXL vs VIA 1505M vs VIA 1535M

    Hulk77777, Jul 4, 2012, in forum: Which TomTom Should I Buy?
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    2,657
    - et -
    Jul 4, 2012
  5. Centurian

    VIA 1505M

    Centurian, May 19, 2014, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    701
    Centurian
    May 19, 2014
  6. Centurian

    VIA 1505M plug in USB lead

    Centurian, May 19, 2014, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    722
    Centurian
    Jul 9, 2014
  7. BigA49

    3rd. New?? 1505M, not charging

    BigA49, Jan 15, 2015, in forum: Technical Support
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    824
    BigA49
    Jan 16, 2015
  8. TomatoSF

    Can TomTom VIA 1505M accept Tyre Maps?

    TomatoSF, Feb 11, 2015, in forum: Which TomTom Should I Buy?
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    862
    canderson
    Feb 11, 2015
Loading...