Eclipse 4P00.004 not working fine after update


Joined
Apr 8, 2021
Messages
7
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ba.png" alt="Bosnia And Herzegovina" /> Bosnia And Herzegovina
TomTom Model(s)
Eclipse 4P00.004
Hello, I have a 2008 Toyota Yaris which has an onboard unit with this GPS module (I hope I've written the correct model number) . After updating it via PC, the GPS module now constantly reboots after running for 20-30 seconds. Is there some way I can repair it or downgrade the software? On another note, the battery is (probably) dead, it can't run when not connected to the car. Maybe that's the issue, even though it worked fine before?

I wanted to update to see if there are improvements like a possibility to play music via phone (bluetooth or usb, it doesn't matter) since it only takes a flash drive. If the only option is to replace, is there a somewhat cheap alternative I can get which would play music via BT?
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,381
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
I'm trying to remember whether the Yaris had the AVN2227P model.
Can you supply the first two characters of the device's serial number? It would be N1 or N2 if it's the one I'm remembering from way back.
More or less like this?

Eclipse.jpg


Does your device appear to operate normally prior to the reboot? If so, it is possible that the battery is enough of an issue to be causing this. What kind of update did you perform? I wasn't aware that any updates had been provided for these since the 'Week Number Rollover' fix was required back in 2019.

As for the battery -- I've never taken one of the Eclipse units apart and have no instructions for that. If you get that brave, this may be what you find inside (1200mAh, 3.7V). Mind that the connector matches. If so, searching for the AHL03713001 might locate a replacement for you somewhere in your area. I get these at batteryship.com when I need them here.

Eclipse Battery.jpg
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2021
Messages
7
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ba.png" alt="Bosnia And Herzegovina" /> Bosnia And Herzegovina
TomTom Model(s)
Eclipse 4P00.004
I'm trying to remember whether the Yaris had the AVN2227P model.
Can you supply the first two characters of the device's serial number? It would be N1 or N2 if it's the one I'm remembering from way back.
More or less like this?

View attachment 5326

Does your device appear to operate normally prior to the reboot? If so, it is possible that the battery is enough of an issue to be causing this. What kind of update did you perform? I wasn't aware that any updates had been provided for these since the 'Week Number Rollover' fix was required back in 2019.

As for the battery -- I've never taken one of the Eclipse units apart and have no instructions for that. If you get that brave, this may be what you find inside (1200mAh, 3.7V). Mind that the connector matches. If so, searching for the AHL03713001 might locate a replacement for you somewhere in your area. I get these at batteryship.com when I need them here.

View attachment 5327
Hey, thanks for the reply. Yes the unit looks exactly like that. The first two digits in the serial number are N2.
I've just got the car recently, and the previous user probably never even updated it. I've just downloaded TomTom home and installed what it offered. I've searched the Internet for something like a collection of firmwares but couldn't find anything.

Yes, the device appears to be working fine, that's why one of my thoughts was that the battery may be causing it. The device is even bulging in the back. I've found one on ebay, it's likely not even original, but seeing as it's not expensive I might order it.

Screenshot_2021-04-09-08-09-45-06.jpg

However before that, I would like to review my options. Is there a possibility to do a rollback? Even better, how would one see if there are compatible alternatives? I don't really care about GPS as my country (Bosnia and Herzegovina) is not even supported in the West Europe package I got, and I use navigation on my phone (don't see the need to pay extra for maps). But I'd really like to be able to connect via bluetooth or even via cable (3.5mm or usb) for music and calls if there's a possibility for that. I wouldn't mess with the car wiring, but would be nice if it was possible to connect something else into the slot.


Edit: Aah, I just realized I've made a big mistake by not backing up the device prior to the update. Would it still be possible to downgrade the software to an earlier version that was working fine?
 
Last edited:

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,381
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Rollback not really possible if you got the update that I think you got. This last one included a new bootloader, and that has to come along with the firmware... and the bootloader can't be 'reversed'. Besides, if you got the firmware that I think you got, it's necessary for the device to even know what time it is. A couple of years ago, older code that wasn't prepared for the need for an additional 'bit' to deal with the GPS date suffered, and a lot of manufacturers had to update to deal with it.

Bulging doesn't sound good. If the battery has swelled, it's definitely not going to perform well.

Given that this device doesn't support maps for your area, it's probably not worth fiddling with unless you spend time in regions where it has existing map coverage.
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2021
Messages
7
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ba.png" alt="Bosnia And Herzegovina" /> Bosnia And Herzegovina
TomTom Model(s)
Eclipse 4P00.004
Rollback not really possible if you got the update that I think you got. This last one included a new bootloader, and that has to come along with the firmware... and the bootloader can't be 'reversed'. Besides, if you got the firmware that I think you got, it's necessary for the device to even know what time it is. A couple of years ago, older code that wasn't prepared for the need for an additional 'bit' to deal with the GPS date suffered, and a lot of manufacturers had to update to deal with it.

Bulging doesn't sound good. If the battery has swelled, it's definitely not going to perform well.

Given that this device doesn't support maps for your area, it's probably not worth fiddling with unless you spend time in regions where it has existing map coverage.
Ouch. Well, that sucks. Hopefully changing the battery will help, otherwise that would suck even more.

Yeah, but like I said, even though I won't use it for navigation, it's still important for calls and showing audio info. I just wish there was a way to know if there are other modules (just the GPS device) that would be compatible and would fit into the slot. Do you know anything about that? If not, I'll just order the battery and hope for the best. And just settle with playing audio from a flash drive. Though the thing that bugs me about it the most is that it needs to rescan every time it's started, maybe the new battery would fix that as well...

Anyway, thanks for your help.
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,381
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
AFAIK, that holder is custom for that particular TomTom device. Have never seen another GPS in one.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Apr 8, 2021
Messages
7
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ba.png" alt="Bosnia And Herzegovina" /> Bosnia And Herzegovina
TomTom Model(s)
Eclipse 4P00.004
AFAIK, that holder is custom for that particular TomTom device. Have never seen another GPS in one.
Battery it is, then. It does seem to work when plugged in to a charger. Though I did notice something weird when trying it out in the car (before it reboots). It doesn't want to switch to audio display from navigation. Hopefully that issue won't stick when the battery is changed.
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2021
Messages
7
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ba.png" alt="Bosnia And Herzegovina" /> Bosnia And Herzegovina
TomTom Model(s)
Eclipse 4P00.004
PXL_20210504_171146216 (1).jpg

Ok so I have to post an update. I've ordered the battery, but unfortunately it's the wrong one. The original is 800mAh, the one I've ordered is 1200mAh, as per your advice. Not to be taken wrong, I'm not blaming anyone, it's just unfortunate that I haven't checked beforehand, but I didn't want to take the device apart before I got a replacement battery.

In any case, I've tried to use the device while the battery is removed, and it still works fine when connected to a cable, but the same situation arises when plugged in the car. I've noticed now for the first time that a few seconds before it abruptly powers off there's a message in the upper right corner - something about "power not connected". It's just mind-boggling how an update could have caused this, and what's worse - it's the LAST update. FFS I just want to be able to play music from a flash drive. I will try to get my hands on a proper battery after all, but I imagine it will be a waste of money...
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,381
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Apologies for suggesting the wrong battery. Our source for that information (batteryship.com) is rarely wrong, so we have come to depend upon their recommendations. That said, if the battery actually fits, you'll be better off with the 1200mAh battery, and it is quite possible to have greater or lesser capacity in the same size package. When you receive the battery, please let us know whether either the physical size and connector are an issue so that we can keep this in mind in the future.

Your problem is beginning to sounds like a connection problem when plugged into the vehicle. The software does not know/care what power source is supplied, and the message you are seeing continues to point in that direction. If that's the case, a fully mains charged battery (using a 'cable', as you say) will get you by for a while, but eventually the battery will become depleted due to lack of charging in the car dock.
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2021
Messages
7
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ba.png" alt="Bosnia And Herzegovina" /> Bosnia And Herzegovina
TomTom Model(s)
Eclipse 4P00.004
Apologies for suggesting the wrong battery. Our source for that information (batteryship.com) is rarely wrong, so we have come to depend upon their recommendations. That said, if the battery actually fits, you'll be better off with the 1200mAh battery, and it is quite possible to have greater or lesser capacity in the same size package. When you receive the battery, please let us know whether either the physical size and connector are an issue so that we can keep this in mind in the future.

Your problem is beginning to sounds like a connection problem when plugged into the vehicle. The software does not know/care what power source is supplied, and the message you are seeing continues to point in that direction. If that's the case, a fully mains charged battery (using a 'cable', as you say) will get you by for a while, but eventually the battery will become depleted due to lack of charging in the car dock.
I've already received the battery, and there are no issues with the connector, just with the physical size. The device works fine standalone with this battery plugged in.

PXL_20210505_150605770.jpg PXL_20210505_150622902.jpg

I've asked one of the shops about a replacement battery, and they've said they don't have a battery that fits this device, even though judging by the provided dimensions, the 800mAh batteries should fit nicely. Wife took the car to work, so I'll test it with this battery when she gets back - if it's possible to connect it to the car while the unit is disassembled like this. If not, I'll remove the speaker to try to fit this 1200mAh battery in a different orientation. This was incredibly frustrating, hopefully the update hasn't made the device paperweight now and it will work in the car with a healthy battery.

Your problem is beginning to sounds like a connection problem when plugged into the vehicle.
Yeah, passthrough power obviously doesn't work (properly) after the update, but I'm thinking if the battery can hold at least a little bit of charge it may work.
 
Last edited:
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Apr 8, 2021
Messages
7
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ba.png" alt="Bosnia And Herzegovina" /> Bosnia And Herzegovina
TomTom Model(s)
Eclipse 4P00.004
Finally some good news. I've tried the TomTom device with this new battery connected, and it seems to work just fine. I've plugged it into the car with the battery fully depleted, and it turned on and worked without restarting for 5-10 minutes during my testing. When I've disconnected it, the battery was charged a little, so powering and charging the device works. Now all it takes is getting the compatible battery.

I've ordered this one, which judging by the provided dimensions should fit perfectly:


I will report back when I get the battery if the issue gets solved completely.
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Similar Threads

TNS410 Tomtom Eclipse 1
Eclipse Map Gone 4
tomtom eclipse driving view not shown 2
Fast and Furious Green Eclipse 0
Eclipse help 3
Eclipse II to Eclipse? 2
Tom Tom Eclipse (Toyota) 2
Eclipse to g'z one 1

Top