Does RDS TMC require subscription in U.S.

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by poipounder, Oct 28, 2009.

  1. poipounder

    poipounder

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hooked up my traffic receiver for the first time (730T) yesterday. Drove 60 miles in the SF Bay Area and didn't get a signal the whole time.

    I am not sure if this service requires a subscription or not. According to this pageTomTom, portable GPS car navigation systems it does..

    But when I called TomTom I was told it didn't.

    If it does, then how do I activate my free 1 year subscription that it was supposed to come with? I looked in TomTom home and could not find anything except a link to subscribe to TT Traffic.

    And if it doesn't any suggestions on how to get a signal.

    I have a vent mount and am running the antennae directly to the middle of the windshield, then it runs to the passenger side bottom, then half way up the windshield.

    Thanks.
     
    poipounder, Oct 28, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. poipounder

    spook45

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO730T
    I also have a 730T and live in the SF area. I usually just throw the TMC antenna on the dash and I get a connection to the signal within a minute or two. I am still working on the one year free subscription so I have not had to complete any subscription forms. It has worked flawlessly since the first time I used it.

    Did you get the sidebar and green circle icons on the right side of the screen? These will usually appear when you connect the antenna to the unit. If you do not see these icons, you may have a loose connection or a defective TMC module. Do you have the USB connected unit or the round connector unit?
     
    spook45, Oct 28, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. poipounder

    poipounder

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes, got the sidebar, but no signal still.

    tried a soft reset. still no love

    i have the oval shaped, not the usb plug-in receiver.

    might make a difference, i guess the usb receiver is the newer.
     
    poipounder, Oct 28, 2009
    #3
  4. poipounder

    spook45

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO730T
    If you're getting the sidebar then the unit has correctly sensed the TMC receiver. I also have the oval shaped unit and have not had a problem. If you purchased this from a local store you might try to get it replaced.
     
    spook45, Oct 29, 2009
    #4
  5. poipounder

    aegould

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 920 T
    I also have the oval plug, and am getting no traffic data here in the Washington, DC area. The icon I'm seeing is the spinning green arrow over the car icon. According to TomTom, the partner they're using here in the US is Total Traffic Network, which is owned by Clear Channel. Clear Channel is a communications company, and is the owner of many of the radio stations in each of the major markets that are supposed to deliver traffic info to our TomToms. However, if you've been following the news, Clear Channel has been trying to dump (sell) many of it's stations in certain markets, as they're losing money because of the economy. As such, I'm afraid that they've let things slide in terms of services such as real traffic feeds. In fact, they're laying off many of their people, which makes me wonder who's watching the shop these days. Bottom line here is that, if you're not getting your traffic feeds (as is the case here in DC), then it's most likely due to Clear Channel/Total Traffic quietly letting the service slide/drop due to brain drain. I've notified TomTom tech support about this, and they've replied that they're looking into this...but haven't heard anything back as of yet. I've told them that they need to get on their partner's case about this issue, or stop selling it as a service to TomTom customers (it's one of the major reasons that I subscribed tot he service...living here in the DC metro area...I want live traffic updates...which TomTom is selling with their RDS-TMC receivers).
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2009
    aegould, Oct 29, 2009
    #5
  6. poipounder

    spook45

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO730T
    I don't use my GPS on a daily basis so I will have to check to see if I am still getting the data feed. I will post back later today. It was working the last time I used it about a week or so ago.
     
    spook45, Oct 29, 2009
    #6
  7. poipounder

    spook45

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO730T
    Went outside and attached my TMC receiver. Connected to the radio station and downloaded the latest traffic information. There were a lot of traffic alerts due to the Bay Bridge closure. So, as far as I can tell all is working as it should be.
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2009
    spook45, Oct 29, 2009
    #7
  8. poipounder

    aegould

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 920 T
    Have heard from both sides of this issue. Total Traffic has confirmed with their engineers that traffic data is indeed being broadcast from their radio stations. They are working closely with TomTom engineers, and have isolated the problem to an issue with some of their recent map versions. They're working on a solution and should have it out to everyone soon. Am assuming that it'll come out with the next map update, but am not sure. I've been advised by TomTom tech support that they will gladly compensate those of us who are experiencing this issue...most likely by extending our traffic subscriptions. More to come......
     
    aegould, Nov 2, 2009
    #8
  9. poipounder

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,438
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    Did you try the solution for issue #1 here?

    PLUS traffic and RDS-TMC traffic both are working fine in Boston.
     
    mvl, Nov 2, 2009
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.