Does changing road speed affect arrival time?

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by ezerhoden, Jun 7, 2008.

  1. ezerhoden

    ezerhoden

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 720, One LE
    I am curious if changing a roads speed limit has an effect on the ETA. Also does it effect routing? I am curious if these chages are considered by the routing engine or are these changes only noticed on the display of the unit.
     
    ezerhoden, Jun 7, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. ezerhoden

    m0j0

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    920T
    I have noticed a difference since I updated to the new maps. The speed limits are appearing in the display. So far I haven't noticed route changes but the route calculation times are much closer. On a 45 minute trip I have out of 8 attempts (with traffic ant) I have not been more than 4-5 minutes off and have been spot on 2 or 3 times. Before I was always about 8-9 minutes early.
     
    m0j0, Jun 7, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. ezerhoden

    TMTT

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    It takes the suggested road speed from th every point you are going FORWARD. However if you clock out a simple trip with a stopwatch VS the TT as you go you will see the time shift to sooner on the stopwatch than that which is displayed on the TT.
     
    TMTT, Jun 8, 2008
    #3
  4. ezerhoden

    ChillyCat

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    N.E.Ohio
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 720

    I'm seeing/experiencing similar results.

    Very nice !! Since I can confidently call ahead to a company's recieving department giving them a reliable time of arrival of the freight i'm about to deliver.
     
    ChillyCat, Jun 8, 2008
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.