Does anyone know if the script for UK will work in USA?

Discussion in 'TomTom Voices' started by iamtheraceman, Dec 23, 2007.

  1. iamtheraceman

    iamtheraceman

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Before I start making my own voices I'd like to know what changes, if any, I'll need to make when recording other than miles to meters. I'm using the script from Graeme's site in the UK. Thanks so much for the help and I love the posts so far!

    Kevin
     
    iamtheraceman, Dec 23, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. iamtheraceman

    Langod

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v3
    Since the British/Irish/Aussie, etc., voices work fine on USA units, the scripts must be the same. I guess you'd just have to replace "roundabout" with "rotary"; "straight on" with "straight ahead"; "motorway" with "highway" etc., if you want a more American idiom.
     
    Langod, Dec 28, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. iamtheraceman

    iamtheraceman

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks! I appreciate the help. I forgot what we called roundabouts here. I'll need to update my Movie Trailer Guy voice and use that for the new voices I'm making this weekend. Thanks again and Happy New Year!

    Kevin
     
    iamtheraceman, Dec 28, 2007
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.