Disscussion on map 870


mvl

Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
5,442
Location
Boston, MA, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
We have created this thread for discussion on map 870. Please see this sticky for information first before posting in this thread.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Dec 4, 2007
Messages
747
Location
Holtsville, NY
TomTom Model(s)
2535M Live
two important things to do before updating

I have the 2535 m live model. Their was a little problem on installation. First I got a warning after 1/2 hr of installing that the tom tom server got disconnected. Secondly, my unit rebooted after 2/3 s of installing and had to start all over on the installation.. What you should do BEFORE you start is

1. Hold down the on off switch for about 20 seconds to get a drum roll. This will clear out your memory problem in your unit. Do this BEFORE you connect to mytomtom.

2. Secondly under settings in mytomtom clear the cache

Just to tell you all that this is a very large download so be prepared for a long wait. Try shutting off any screensavers during the download. and close all cell phones so they are not connected. Also if you can go to your manage your computer and go you your USB settings, right click to properties and make sure your computer does NOT allow usb ports to be shut off automatically

Finally your map colors is going to default on atlantica. The original colors were deleted. Personally I think the original colors were better but you cant do anything about this. Finally I am glad to say that your favorites are saved and not lost. Good luck
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 17, 2010
Messages
30
Location
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
TomTom Model(s)
540
As has been the case for the past 5 maps, none of the major changes in my area that I reported to Mapshare and Map Insight multiple times have been taken into account.

I sometimes wonder if there is anybody actually working on updating maps over at what used to be Tele Atlas. I know how they like to talk to shareholders about how great Mapshare is because they no longer have to update maps themselves, but they aren't even taking into account the information that is sent to them through Mapshare. Plus, their only press releases regarding maps refers to new coverage of new areas and not improvements on their current maps.

Also, I'm pretty sure it's just an omission, but I'm not reassured by the fact that the image and description of the map doesn't refer to IQ Routes anymore...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 23, 2010
Messages
93
Location
Edinburgh, UK
TomTom Model(s)
TomTom XL IQ2 (XL350)
As has been the case for the past 5 maps, none of the major changes in my area that I reported to Mapshare and Map Insight multiple times have been taken into account.

I sometimes wonder if there is anybody actually working on updating maps over at what used to be Tele Atlas. I know how they like to talk to shareholders about how great Mapshare is because they no longer have to update maps themselves, but they aren't even taking into account the information that is sent to them through Mapshare. Plus, their only press releases regarding maps refers to new coverage of new areas and not improvements on their current maps.

Also, I'm pretty sure it's just an omission, but I'm not reassured by the fact that the image and description of the map doesn't refer to IQ Routes anymore...
Agreed, the updates I have submitted have not appeared yet.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2008
Messages
421
TomTom Model(s)
340S TM (2011), ONE XL (2008)
Successful, non-eventful with both the download (18 minutes on hardwire) and installation (approx 1 hour).

Only a small error which others have also reported, occurred at the conclusion of the procedures, I was wrongly reassured by a popup message stating that my map was successfully installed on my memory card, and that it can only be used when the memory card is inserted in my navigation device. Not the case with mine.:rolleyes:
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2007
Messages
208
Location
Pittsburgh Pa USA
TomTom Model(s)
TomTom 720
Same here with no changes to local roads. I have a all new ramp system off of a major highway that has been done for the last year and this is the 4th map and it is still not updated. these maps seem to be a waste of time now since they update them so often. I could see a small road change but when it is a major highway right out side of Pittsburgh it is crazy not to update it.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
May 27, 2010
Messages
8
Location
Auburn, WA
TomTom Model(s)
GO730
Well, downloaded the latest map update and despite the fact that I first submitted the correction 2 years ago and had an email 3 months ago from tele-atlas telling me that my change request had been reviewed , approved, and would show up in the next map update, my neighborhood is _STILL_ not on the map. Grrr.... :rant:

I did do some browsing and saw that a back road I sometimes use on my commute had been altered. It's still incorrect but it's closer to being right... Still can't believe how much TomTom charges for these sh*tty map updates. :mad:
 

mvl

Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
5,442
Location
Boston, MA, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
I've never seen a real world change faster than 9 months in a Tomtom map.

Tomtom takes at least 3 months to convert a Teleatlas release to a Tomtom release, and the Teleatlas release may get locked down even sooner.

So "Next map" from the mapinsight page is probably 3-9 months away.
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2009
Messages
5
MVL is right:

I received in the past month messages from MapInsight about previous submissions of new/changed roads stating that the changes would be in the next maps update, but they are not in this version.

Perhaps in the next?
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2007
Messages
13
Location
New Mexico
TomTom Model(s)
XXL 550
Map share not working

870.3420 on XL 350M. With the previous map update map share worked. With the map update before that it did not. It is not working with this update. Will I have to wait until the next one for it to work again?
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,300
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Will I have to wait until the next one for it to work again?
Probably not. You'll likely only have to wait for the first MapShare info to be released for that silly message to go away in Home2.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,645
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
Brilliant new map.
Just blocked a bit of Altona Road in Pickering, Ontario (tearing down the railroad bridge and widening the road to 4 lanes).

I selected a location jusr north of there, three turns to detour around it, but TomTom returns No route found
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2010
Messages
83
Location
New York
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/us.png" alt="United States" /> United States
TomTom Model(s)
XXL 540 TM, TT Go Android
Has the effectiveness of map updating changed over time?

Is it slower or less effective that it was in the past?

Harry
 

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,645
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
Download yesterday was 35 min at 16:45 EDT. Install 17 min.
Both faster than the last one,
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,300
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Has the effectiveness of map updating changed over time?

Is it slower or less effective that it was in the past?

Harry
Do you mean the mechanics of getting a new map loaded to your unit, or do you mean the quality and speed of the process of improving the maps back at Teleatlas?
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2011
Messages
3
Location
North Carolina, USA
TomTom Model(s)
XL 350TM
... despite the fact that I first submitted the correction 2 years ago and had an email 3 months ago from tele-atlas telling me that my change request had been reviewed , approved, and would show up in the next map update, my neighborhood is _STILL_ not on the map.
And it isn't even on the map at Map Insight, right? Sometimes I wonder if only the GPS locations of the submissions are used, to decide when/where the maps should be updated, and the form letter "Thanks! We were able to use your input ..." just means that they're going to give priority to updating the map for your area. Eventually.

It seems to me Tele Atlas could have handled your request entirely automatically. You are claiming a new neighborhood. It could confirm from TomTom speed profile data that the roads exist. It could deduce there is low risk in trusting you (you are claiming a neighborhood, not some possibly-nonexistent connector that impacts routing decisions. It could check your claimed street name(s) for duplication with existing streets, obscenity, etc. (Or it could leave the roads unnamed, that would be better than not having them at all).

TomTom likes to say that 15% of the roads change every year. If they remain this sluggish, their database will soon be 100% wrong :)
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Aug 10, 2010
Messages
47
TomTom Model(s)
XL 340TM
With the 870 map update, my XL 340 freezes and restarts whenever I try to go into "Navigate to" or "Prepare Route." The freeze occurs while it's still in the main menu with the icon highlighted. Strangely, the itinerary planning doesn't have any problem, even to navigate with.

After restoring to the old version, everything works good.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2011
Messages
4,683
Location
London, UK.
TomTom Model(s)
Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
@dash8...
Did you copy your MapSettings.cfg across to the new map?
It *should* work OK, but in the past I've had odd things happening and giving up on my copied MapSettings file and just letting it create a new one has solved the issues.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2010
Messages
47
TomTom Model(s)
XL 340TM
Cleared cache and updated again, but using previous MapSettings.cfg didn't help.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,645
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
Interesting pop-up after yesterdays download and installation of HOME 2.8.2.2264 and NA map 870.3406.

Screen027.jpg

When I tried to upload that one I got a red bar informing that I was 3.04 over my upload limit.
At least it is easy to check what is to be deleted.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Similar Threads

Old maps download 4
GO530 - no maps 2
1055 Map Released 6
Maps update 1
Deleted map in error 10
GO 5100 No maps available. No menu access 8
No planned route showing on map. 4
Renault Carminat no maps found 0

Top