Disscussion on map 870

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by mvl, May 17, 2011.

  1. mvl

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    We have created this thread for discussion on map 870. Please see this sticky for information first before posting in this thread.
     
    mvl, May 17, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. mvl

    doctormstein1

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Holtsville, NY
    TomTom Model(s):
    2535M Live
    two important things to do before updating

    I have the 2535 m live model. Their was a little problem on installation. First I got a warning after 1/2 hr of installing that the tom tom server got disconnected. Secondly, my unit rebooted after 2/3 s of installing and had to start all over on the installation.. What you should do BEFORE you start is

    1. Hold down the on off switch for about 20 seconds to get a drum roll. This will clear out your memory problem in your unit. Do this BEFORE you connect to mytomtom.

    2. Secondly under settings in mytomtom clear the cache

    Just to tell you all that this is a very large download so be prepared for a long wait. Try shutting off any screensavers during the download. and close all cell phones so they are not connected. Also if you can go to your manage your computer and go you your USB settings, right click to properties and make sure your computer does NOT allow usb ports to be shut off automatically

    Finally your map colors is going to default on atlantica. The original colors were deleted. Personally I think the original colors were better but you cant do anything about this. Finally I am glad to say that your favorites are saved and not lost. Good luck
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2011
    doctormstein1, May 17, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. mvl

    pat3500

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    540
    As has been the case for the past 5 maps, none of the major changes in my area that I reported to Mapshare and Map Insight multiple times have been taken into account.

    I sometimes wonder if there is anybody actually working on updating maps over at what used to be Tele Atlas. I know how they like to talk to shareholders about how great Mapshare is because they no longer have to update maps themselves, but they aren't even taking into account the information that is sent to them through Mapshare. Plus, their only press releases regarding maps refers to new coverage of new areas and not improvements on their current maps.

    Also, I'm pretty sure it's just an omission, but I'm not reassured by the fact that the image and description of the map doesn't refer to IQ Routes anymore...
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2011
    pat3500, May 17, 2011
    #3
  4. mvl

    mccririck

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom XL IQ2 (XL350)
    Agreed, the updates I have submitted have not appeared yet.
     
    mccririck, May 17, 2011
    #4
  5. mvl

    alfie67

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    8
    TomTom Model(s):
    340S TM (2011), ONE XL (2008)
    Successful, non-eventful with both the download (18 minutes on hardwire) and installation (approx 1 hour).

    Only a small error which others have also reported, occurred at the conclusion of the procedures, I was wrongly reassured by a popup message stating that my map was successfully installed on my memory card, and that it can only be used when the memory card is inserted in my navigation device. Not the case with mine.:rolleyes:
     
    alfie67, May 18, 2011
    #5
  6. mvl

    racefan

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Pittsburgh Pa USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom 720
    Same here with no changes to local roads. I have a all new ramp system off of a major highway that has been done for the last year and this is the 4th map and it is still not updated. these maps seem to be a waste of time now since they update them so often. I could see a small road change but when it is a major highway right out side of Pittsburgh it is crazy not to update it.
     
    racefan, May 18, 2011
    #6
  7. mvl

    CougRon

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, WA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO730
    Well, downloaded the latest map update and despite the fact that I first submitted the correction 2 years ago and had an email 3 months ago from tele-atlas telling me that my change request had been reviewed , approved, and would show up in the next map update, my neighborhood is _STILL_ not on the map. Grrr.... :rant:

    I did do some browsing and saw that a back road I sometimes use on my commute had been altered. It's still incorrect but it's closer to being right... Still can't believe how much TomTom charges for these sh*tty map updates. :mad:
     
    CougRon, May 18, 2011
    #7
  8. mvl

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    I've never seen a real world change faster than 9 months in a Tomtom map.

    Tomtom takes at least 3 months to convert a Teleatlas release to a Tomtom release, and the Teleatlas release may get locked down even sooner.

    So "Next map" from the mapinsight page is probably 3-9 months away.
     
    mvl, May 18, 2011
    #8
  9. mvl

    Jose Nunes

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    MVL is right:

    I received in the past month messages from MapInsight about previous submissions of new/changed roads stating that the changes would be in the next maps update, but they are not in this version.

    Perhaps in the next?
     
    Jose Nunes, May 18, 2011
    #9
  10. mvl

    hwsmi242

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 550
    Map share not working

    870.3420 on XL 350M. With the previous map update map share worked. With the map update before that it did not. It is not working with this update. Will I have to wait until the next one for it to work again?
     
    hwsmi242, May 18, 2011
    #10
  11. mvl

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,060
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Probably not. You'll likely only have to wait for the first MapShare info to be released for that silly message to go away in Home2.
     
    canderson, May 18, 2011
    #11
  12. mvl

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,491
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Brilliant new map.
    Just blocked a bit of Altona Road in Pickering, Ontario (tearing down the railroad bridge and widening the road to 4 lanes).

    I selected a location jusr north of there, three turns to detour around it, but TomTom returns No route found
     
    Arno, May 19, 2011
    #12
  13. mvl

    Harry6

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    New York
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 540 TM, TT Go Android
    Has the effectiveness of map updating changed over time?

    Is it slower or less effective that it was in the past?

    Harry
     
    Harry6, May 19, 2011
    #13
  14. mvl

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,491
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Download yesterday was 35 min at 16:45 EDT. Install 17 min.
    Both faster than the last one,
     
    Arno, May 19, 2011
    #14
  15. mvl

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,060
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Do you mean the mechanics of getting a new map loaded to your unit, or do you mean the quality and speed of the process of improving the maps back at Teleatlas?
     
    canderson, May 19, 2011
    #15
  16. mvl

    ttruscott

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL 350TM
    And it isn't even on the map at Map Insight, right? Sometimes I wonder if only the GPS locations of the submissions are used, to decide when/where the maps should be updated, and the form letter "Thanks! We were able to use your input ..." just means that they're going to give priority to updating the map for your area. Eventually.

    It seems to me Tele Atlas could have handled your request entirely automatically. You are claiming a new neighborhood. It could confirm from TomTom speed profile data that the roads exist. It could deduce there is low risk in trusting you (you are claiming a neighborhood, not some possibly-nonexistent connector that impacts routing decisions. It could check your claimed street name(s) for duplication with existing streets, obscenity, etc. (Or it could leave the roads unnamed, that would be better than not having them at all).

    TomTom likes to say that 15% of the roads change every year. If they remain this sluggish, their database will soon be 100% wrong :)
     
    ttruscott, May 19, 2011
    #16
  17. mvl

    dash8

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL 340TM
    With the 870 map update, my XL 340 freezes and restarts whenever I try to go into "Navigate to" or "Prepare Route." The freeze occurs while it's still in the main menu with the icon highlighted. Strangely, the itinerary planning doesn't have any problem, even to navigate with.

    After restoring to the old version, everything works good.
     
    dash8, May 19, 2011
    #17
  18. mvl

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    @dash8...
    Did you copy your MapSettings.cfg across to the new map?
    It *should* work OK, but in the past I've had odd things happening and giving up on my copied MapSettings file and just letting it create a new one has solved the issues.
     
    Andy_P, May 19, 2011
    #18
  19. mvl

    dash8

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL 340TM
    Cleared cache and updated again, but using previous MapSettings.cfg didn't help.
     
    dash8, May 19, 2011
    #19
  20. mvl

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,491
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Interesting pop-up after yesterdays download and installation of HOME 2.8.2.2264 and NA map 870.3406.

    Screen027.jpg

    When I tried to upload that one I got a red bar informing that I was 3.04 over my upload limit.
    At least it is easy to check what is to be deleted.
     
    Arno, May 19, 2011
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.