Custom Overlay/Internet Access Software?

Is there software out there that will let you overlay custom images on the existing TomTom map? Perhaps load shape files or transparent GIF/PNG images?

Additionally, is there software out there that will let you access the Internet through Bluetooth?

My goal is to either get/write some software that will utilize the bluetooth internet to download background radar images that can be overlaid on a TomTom display.

I am a programmer myself, so any direction that I can be given may be something I can take farther myself.. so any help is appreciated.

Is there software out there that will let you overlay custom images on the existing TomTom map?
Not as far as I know.

Perhaps load shape files or transparent GIF/PNG images?
No.

Additionally, is there software out there that will let you access the Internet through Bluetooth?
Check out Opentom.org

My goal is to either get/write some software that will utilize the bluetooth internet to download background radar images ...
What do you mean by radar images??

Yes, Radio Detection and Ranging, I have heard of it. There are many different types. You could have been talking about speed-trap radar, aviation radar or marine radar for all I know.

..you know what you see on TV that shows precipitation. in the U.S. the government weather radar is called NEXRAD, or WSR-88D. That.
that's Synthetic Aperture Radar.

I have 3 questions for you;

1) Where do you intend to get these images from (remember you must be able to get an image for any given coordinate, in near-enough real-time)? I assume that you want them for free.

2) Do you have any idea of the bandwidth you would require to constantly stream such images to your TomTom (presumably via a mobile phone), or how much that data traffic would cost you?

3) What would you do with such information? i.e., How would seeing on your TomTom where it is raining be any help to you?