Connect TomTom to computer as GPS input?

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by zeeek, Dec 2, 2011.

  1. zeeek

    zeeek

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL
    I am a storm chaser and I am a member of a site that allows my fans to follow me as I chase via imaps and chase cam. I own the XL and I am trying to figure out if my computer can use this as a GPS when it is connected. Can any one help?
     
    zeeek, Dec 2, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. zeeek

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,184
    Likes Received:
    147
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Negative. What you want for PC connections is a GPS or USB GPS 'puck' that provides NMEA data output. I've used my Garmin Oregon 450 handheld for this any number of times for various tasks, pumping the NMEA data from that device to my PC for mapping. That said, this still doesn't get you connected to a cellular or other network that will inexpensively allow you to upload a continuous data stream of your location. For that, your PC would need a 3G card or similar in addition to the GPS... and you'd need to stay in range of cell sites to make that work. You'll also need the software on your PC that can accept and interpret the NMEA data from the GPS, and something that will in turn pump that out to the 3G card. I don't know of a package that does all that.

    FWIW, there are some really hot deals on that Garmin 450 if you have need of a good handheld GPS as well. I've seen them as cheap as $229 at GPSCity in the last week.

    The alternatives are GPS devices with satellite uplink capability to send coordinate data that way, but while the devices aren't horribly expensive, the satellite uplink subscription isn't free. That said, here's the device that will actually do what you need done: http://www.findmespot.com/en/ Review it's "Track Progress" feature. It will send coordinate data every 10 minutes. For that feature, it's a minimum $49 per year.
     
    canderson, Dec 2, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. bobaloolie

    Can't Connect to Computer

    bobaloolie, Mar 19, 2007, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    3,209
    Tweekme
    Mar 19, 2007
  2. Buccaneer

    cant connect to computer / home screen

    Buccaneer, Sep 23, 2007, in forum: Technical Support
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,041
    graemet
    Sep 24, 2007
  3. kimselect02

    TomTom Go 510 GPS...TomTom Go 910 GPS Car Navigation System

    kimselect02, Apr 12, 2008, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,901
    kimselect02
    Apr 12, 2008
  4. Jimmer773

    unable to connect to tomtom to computer

    Jimmer773, Mar 15, 2009, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    11,266
    gcgirl0914
    Apr 6, 2009
  5. Reg

    Tom Tom 1 - How do i input GPS co-ordinates

    Reg, May 8, 2009, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    4,613
    46jimbo
    May 11, 2009
  6. creature101

    Input GPS Co-ordinates into TOMTOM XL2

    creature101, Dec 29, 2010, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    3,420
  7. Icarus7AC

    TomTom Via 1605 MyDrive Connect Update Used 2.8 GB on My Computer

    Icarus7AC, Mar 24, 2015, in forum: TomTom Home and MyTomTom Software
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,210
    Icarus7AC
    Mar 25, 2015
  8. Cntrl

    Mydrive connect won't connect.

    Cntrl, Mar 3, 2017, in forum: Technical Support
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    703
    canderson
    Mar 17, 2017
Loading...