Clearing Route Automatically When Arriving At The Destination?

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by neilvan, Apr 5, 2008.

  1. neilvan

    neilvan

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I could have sworn I remembered seeing this option somewhere?

    Am I just hallucinating or can someone tell me how to turn this feature on...

    Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2008
    neilvan, Apr 5, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. neilvan

    Yotrek

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also like to know, can someone help?
     
    Yotrek, Apr 5, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. neilvan

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,054
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    This works sometimes. Navigate to-->Recent Destination. Pick the destination you want removed. Now then, as soon as you see the 'planning the route' appear on the screen, hit the 'cancel' button. You will find the destination has been deleted.

    As I said, it works sometimes.
     
    dhn, Apr 5, 2008
    #3
  4. neilvan

    neilvan

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks dhn, there used to be an option to do this though. Maybe they took that option away with the recent update?

    Anybody else know?
     
    neilvan, Apr 12, 2008
    #4
  5. neilvan

    46jimbo

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    TT ONE v1
    What you want is the 'Clear Route' function. (But it's not automatic, you have to press it.)

    If you don't see it, go into Preferences and select 'Show all menu options' (or something to that effect).

    Personally, I created a custom menu with this function on the 1st screen.
     
    46jimbo, Apr 12, 2008
    #5
  6. neilvan

    neilvan

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I know that one as well and I am using it but there was a function as I am describing as well.

    I think I will have to contact TomTom and ask them.
     
    neilvan, Apr 12, 2008
    #6
  7. neilvan

    infama

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    11
    Never heard of this.

    DHN,

    You can use any destination and if you hit cancel before calcs complete all routes are erased...and it works everytime. I use it every day.
     
    infama, Apr 12, 2008
    #7
  8. neilvan

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,054
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520

    Yeah, but somebody said he got it to work for only ONE recent destination while leaving the others intact.
     
    dhn, Apr 12, 2008
    #8
  9. neilvan

    Steve B

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm just curiouls why someone would want to do this?
     
    Steve B, Apr 16, 2008
    #9
  10. neilvan

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,054
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    I dunno, maybe he wants to hide the fact he used the TomTom to direct him to a strip bar or something.....:D :D :D
     
    dhn, Apr 16, 2008
    #10
  11. neilvan

    cnynctry

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    TomTom Model(s):
    920
    I thought the question was how to make the GPS stop navigating automaticly once you reached your destination. I have to manualy enter the menu find the "clear route" to stop if from continuing trying to take me back to my original destination when I'm leaving. My older Garmin stops navigating once the destination has been reached. I wish the 920 did too.
     
    cnynctry, Apr 16, 2008
    #11
  12. neilvan

    cputrdoc

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 920T
    Just now, I was sitting at my desk trying to talk to TomTom support about the remote control issue I mentioned on another thread. As the unit caught and lost the GPS signal, it kept chattering away, "In 50 yards, you have reached your destination." "Turn right. Then make a U-turn." Arghhh... where is that stupid clear function!

    Another reason: We have an MP3 player playing lullabies continuously in my daughter's room. When we have a weekend away, I set up the MP3 function on the GPS to help her sleep. Saves me having to pack an additional item. ...but if the thing is so busy chattering away about arriving at my destination, it's not going to be a peaceful experience.

    Yes, I can clear it manually, but rather than hitting [Menu -> Next -> Next -> Clear Route -> yes I'm sure] I'd much rather that it clear the route on its own.
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2008
    cputrdoc, Apr 16, 2008
    #12
  13. neilvan

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,054
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Don't have the unit in front of me but I wonder whether 'clear route' can be added to the 'quickmenu' icon to at least cut down on keystrokes, uh, finger touches.;)
     
    dhn, Apr 16, 2008
    #13
  14. neilvan

    infama

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    11
    Not yet.

    TT needs to enable this. They are taking too long with it!
     
    infama, Apr 16, 2008
    #14
  15. neilvan

    infama

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    11

    Fastest way is to Nav to->recent destination (pick a far one)->hit cancel (while the calculation is occuring, ie the further the destin, the longer the calc)....this clears the route in less steps and is more natural.
     
    infama, Apr 16, 2008
    #15
  16. neilvan

    andyjstewart

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Morin Heights
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 920
    I used TT MenuBuilder, as described elsewhere in the forums, and set up a custom menu with clear route as the second icon. I also deleted the "Are you sure" dialog, as described. 2 touches with the remote and the route is gone! Use it all the time.
    Andy
     
    andyjstewart, Apr 16, 2008
    #16
  17. neilvan

    Continental Drifter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary,Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go920
    I wish the same! I know that it is really no problem to 'clear route' and I can almost do it without taking my eyes off the road. Sometimes I forget though and it is annoying to be driving away from the destination I just drove to and have Tomtom trying to get me to turn around and go back to it. You'd think it would be obvious that once I reach my destination I don't want to go there anymore:rolleyes:
     
    Continental Drifter, Apr 17, 2008
    #17
  18. neilvan

    cputrdoc

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 920T
    I noticed today that sometimes in the Itineraries menu it will automatically mark a destination as visited. That shows somewhere in the code there is an "arrived" event that can be triggered. Figuring out how to tap into that is the tricky part.
     
    cputrdoc, Apr 17, 2008
    #18
  19. neilvan

    Trancebear

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO.
    TomTom Model(s):
    920T
    My old Nuvi POS stopped the route when you arrived, I have to believe it will be available as an update soon.
     
    Trancebear, Apr 22, 2008
    #19
  20. neilvan

    tnronin

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I spoke with Tomtom about this and they said they didn't think it was a problem for the clear route to be buried like this. I told them to think about it because of the safety issues. They politely told me tough sh!t.

    I need to find that menu builder.
     
    tnronin, Aug 11, 2008
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.