Change battery in 700

Sorry if this has been asked before but I cannot make the forum 'search' facility work (Firefox, latest issue). Anyway, having been in use in hot weather since 2005 my 700 battery is not holding a good charge. I am an electronics engineer with experience of working on all kinds of the latest production kit so I would like to buy and replace the battery myself. Can anyone advise me of the battery type (or alternatives) and, ideally, any service notes on how to change the battery. Maybe there is also a lithium backup battery on the board that could be usefully changed at the same time? Many thanks.

Look for supermod mikealder to reply to your query. If anyone knows, it would be he.

If you don't see a response within 24 hours, pm him.

Never taken a Go-700 to bits (that must be a first!) but I do know there are a number of threads on fourums showing how to change the hard drive for a CF Memory Card, I will have a look for such a post later and provide a link as that shows you how to get in to the unit.
One of the moderators on yourtomtom.com did the CF card swap a few years ago as I recall - Mike

Never taken a Go-700 to bits (that must be a first!) but I do know there are a number of threads on fourums showing how to change the hard drive for a CF Memory Card, I will have a look for such a post later and provide a link as that shows you how to get in to the unit.
One of the moderators on yourtomtom.com did the CF card swap a few years ago as I recall - Mike