Carminat Tom Tom gives wrong position

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by Mrs. E, Jul 2, 2012.

  1. Mrs. E

    Mrs. E

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Netherlands
    TomTom Model(s):
    Carminat
    Saw some posts yesterday on this topic but thread now closed. Updated system yesterday to remove speed camera warnings prior to holiday on Saturday. Put card back and immediately saw total confusion. Like the threads yesterday the real position of the car was 200 m to the left of where it thought it was. Renault garage has not seen this before - hopefully there is a solution to be found before the weekend.
     
    Mrs. E, Jul 2, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Mrs. E

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,131
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Do you use Home 2 to update that model (I don't think so) but there IS a new gpsfix file available via Home 2 to remedy the problematic file from the weekend.
     
    dhn, Jul 2, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Mrs. E

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    Yes you do use Home2. You just need to take the SD card out and put it in a card reader in the PC.
    (I just found it on p47 of the manual. :))
     
    Andy_P, Jul 2, 2012
    #3
  4. Mrs. E

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,131
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Thanks, Andy! :thumb:
     
    dhn, Jul 2, 2012
    #4
  5. Mrs. E

    Mrs. E

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Netherlands
    TomTom Model(s):
    Carminat
    Thanks for your post. I removed the gps fix update from the device and from the computer using TomTom Home and then updated the device with the latest fix file using Home. Inserted card into Carminat built-in system before turning it on and when turning it on after a few minutes, positioning was OK again.

    As per your link http://uk.support.tomtom.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/16319
     
    Mrs. E, Jul 3, 2012
    #5
  6. Mrs. E

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,131
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Thanks for the feedback...... Glad it seems sorted.
     
    dhn, Jul 3, 2012
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.