Carminat card query

Discussion in 'In-Dash Navigation' started by massadaddy, Aug 31, 2010.

  1. massadaddy

    massadaddy

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please see:-

    http://imgur.com/kYkLx.jpg

    I have a Carminat card (2 Gig) of Western Europe and a 4 Gig memory card that has been 'linked' to my account and loaded with Western Europe for back-up purposes. Both have been updated, have the same map, work and appear to be identical.

    On the screenshot you'll see that the 4 Gig card has a larger sized map. Is it any more detailed? It does not appear to be when plugged into the car.

    Will both cards work in any TomTom Carminat fitted car?

    Thanks.
     
    massadaddy, Aug 31, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. massadaddy

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,974
    Likes Received:
    441
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Well, if you had clicked 'more information' beside each map listing, that would have been useful to see what, if anything, appears to be different and what version of the map you have. If it's 850, you would only get a zone of Europe on the 2GB card not the full thing........
     
    dhn, Aug 31, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. massadaddy

    massadaddy

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Excellent idea DHN


    http://imgur.com/Pmsjo.jpg

    I chose a longish across Europe route on each card.
    The larger card's map has more colours. One card picked up a closed road whereas the other didn't.
    The France only 2 gig card (not previously mentioned) has even more colour definition.
    It seems the the general information is correct on all cards but the map definition varies.
    For example, if the existing 1.88 Gig map of Europe has extra information (voices, cameras etc.) then the quality of the map decreases to keep within the 2 Gig card. When I inserted a 4 Gig card, TomTom Home "knew' its size and upped the map quality or so it appears.

    ----------------

    Will both cards work in any TomTom Carminat car????

    I hope so even though I did this:-

    To initialise your new card for your Carminat, please follow the following steps.

    - Go out to your car with the new memory card
    - Insert the card into the memory card slot
    - Start the car, then turn it off
    - Get out of the car and make sure nothing is on the front seats
    - Lock the car
    - Unlock the car
    - Take the card out and go back to your computer inside

    Now that the card is initialised,
    - Attach the old card to the computer. Copy all the contents of the card to the computer
    - Take the card out and plug in the new card
    - Paste all the contents that came from the old card to the new card
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 31, 2010
    massadaddy, Aug 31, 2010
    #3
  4. massadaddy

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,974
    Likes Received:
    441
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Wow! No need to play with the font size. We'll see your message just fine in the default font.
     
    dhn, Aug 31, 2010
    #4
  5. massadaddy

    massadaddy

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow. Inhibit the font size choice and are you able to answer the question?
     
    massadaddy, Aug 31, 2010
    #5
  6. massadaddy

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,974
    Likes Received:
    441
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    I'm not able to give you good advice but look for supermod Mikealder to respond to this thread within the next 24 hours. He is UK based and experienced with that model. We don't have it in North America.
     
    dhn, Aug 31, 2010
    #6
  7. massadaddy

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    I would have a look at the various files and their respective file size using Windows Explorer on each card to try and work out any differences, often the larger map will contain slightly better road definition through corners with more defined points leading to a smoother display, also the POI content might be larger (POI.dat) but just because its larger doesn't mean its any better in terms of overall accuracy.

    I don't have this device as I drive an Ovlov (try it backwards), if the above doesn't offer advice on the question in hand please try re-posting what you are after as I got a little lost reading the thread - Mike
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2010
    mikealder, Sep 1, 2010
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.