Can't log into TomTom

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by Scrambles, Sep 4, 2007.

  1. Scrambles

    Scrambles

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Near Philadelphia, PA
    TomTom Model(s):
    One v3
    I've been having trouble logging into TomTom from TT HOME, every time i press the "login" button, the little "earth" icon starts spinning, but i get nothing. I also cannot access www.tomtom.com through the internet either. I've ruled out the browser settings, and it doesn't matter which browser i use either. All other sites work fine. This only just started happening a week ago, was fine up until then.

    What could be happening? Any suggestions?:confused:
     
    Scrambles, Sep 4, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Scrambles

    WoodsmanUK

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    One Eu'
    It's not working for me either.

    Lets hope its an update, mapshare perhaps?

    Simon
     
    WoodsmanUK, Sep 4, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Scrambles

    LostFool

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ace, TX
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 910
    This could be one of two problems. One would be an external problem with the internet. A link between you and TomTom could be down and a bypass hasn't been found as of yet.
    Two it could be a firewall issue (which would prevent any browser from connecting). In this case check for TomTom in Restricted Sites.
     
    LostFool, Sep 5, 2007
    #3
  4. Scrambles

    Scrambles

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Near Philadelphia, PA
    TomTom Model(s):
    One v3
    Must be the former, because I checked my firewall(s) first and all is clear.
     
    Scrambles, Sep 5, 2007
    #4
  5. Scrambles

    JimT

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TT Go 2535M, TT 740Live, TT 510
    I have been having trouble also w TT Home. It will start the GPS Quick Fix and then it freezes up. I even have a difficult exiting TT Home.
     
    JimT, Sep 5, 2007
    #5
  6. Scrambles

    The Spook

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    31.105192, 121.013781
    TomTom Model(s):
    910, 720 and ONE NE
    You're not using Kerio are you?
     
    The Spook, Sep 6, 2007
    #6
  7. Scrambles

    Scrambles

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Near Philadelphia, PA
    TomTom Model(s):
    One v3
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2007
    Scrambles, Sep 6, 2007
    #7
  8. Scrambles

    bignerd972

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe it's a an external issue. I have been having the same problem with tomtoms website for the past month. I hope they fix it soon, as I just ordered a TT1 and will need to download updates and such.

    Has anyone had a problem with websites hat won't load, but all other website function properly(not just tomtom.com)?

    Also, I know that TT Home comes with the TT1 but I wanted to download the version from the website, does anyone know of a mirror site where I can download TT Home?
     
    bignerd972, Sep 6, 2007
    #8
  9. Scrambles

    truckie36

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was having the same problem. All other websites worked but I couldn't access tomtom. After a lot of messing around I resolved it by going into the modem and disconnecting from Verizon for about 30 seconds. When I reconnected I was given a new IP Address and now the tomtom website works again.
     
    truckie36, Sep 17, 2007
    #9
  10. Scrambles

    Scrambles

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Near Philadelphia, PA
    TomTom Model(s):
    One v3
    Today, finally, after all this time I can access the TomTom web page, and also login to TomTom home.

    I have no explanation at all, it just started working for me again.

    :confused:
     
    Scrambles, Sep 27, 2007
    #10
  11. Scrambles

    berkisho

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    East Brunswick, NJ
    TomTom Model(s):
    910
    Tomtom sites seems inaccessable now 3:40 pm EST :cool:
     
    berkisho, Sep 27, 2007
    #11
  12. Scrambles

    Scrambles

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Near Philadelphia, PA
    TomTom Model(s):
    One v3
    Ah, no wonder I just couldn't log in through Home again! At least I completed my updates.
     
    Scrambles, Sep 27, 2007
    #12
  13. Scrambles

    steve d

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New jersey
    TomTom Model(s):
    Tom tom One
    same problem

    I registered for the forum because I was having the same problem getting into the Tom Tom home web site. I'm glad it isn't a problem with me. Has anyone called them to see if they are aware of the problem? I hope it gets resolved soon.
     
    steve d, Sep 27, 2007
    #13
  14. Scrambles

    farmecologist

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't connect either. Has TomTom had web site problems like this in the past? :mad:
     
    farmecologist, Sep 29, 2007
    #14
  15. Scrambles

    farmecologist

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are others stilll having problems? I still can't reach the tomtom web site from home.

    Really strange...I CAN reach it from work though! I think it's time for a call to my ISP.
     
    farmecologist, Oct 6, 2007
    #15
  16. Scrambles

    GRK

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same here - can't login or access website!

    I was able to access the website just once last weekend when we bought our 720. I've never logged in successfully with the device yet. Tried resetting my router - didn't work. Honestly, if I can get to everything else, it's got to be their website.
     
    GRK, Oct 7, 2007
    #16
  17. Scrambles

    farmecologist

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I did a little bit of investigation. I did a trace route on www.tomtom.com and here is what I found:



    It could not reach the web site! very odd.. I then did a 'whois' on 192.205.34.78..the last node in the chain before the timeout:



    For those of you that are still having problems, could you issue a 'tracert www.tomtom.com' from a DOS prompt window and check to see where the timeout happens? FYI - this is *not* a DNS issue...I can't even ping the IP address ( 193.173.148.208 ).
     
    farmecologist, Oct 17, 2007
    #17
  18. Scrambles

    TomTomPutz

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720
    Are you using Verizon?

    If so, it may be your IP address that's causing the problem.

    I'm having the same problems and finally contacted both TT and my ISP (Verizon FIOS) today. TT pointed the finger at the ISP and my ISP is blaming TT saying that the TT servers must be blocking IP addresses in the 96.2xx range. They could access the site without problems from their end. By the time I got off the phone with Verizon, the TT support line was closed for the night. I'll try again in the AM. This is frustrating...

    Bruce

    Update: TT says that there is nothing they can do. This is driving me crazy.
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2007
    TomTomPutz, Oct 23, 2007
    #18
  19. Scrambles

    BigNus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom one 2nd edition
    Same problem here

    I'm having the same problem...i documented it as starting at noon on 23-october-2007....all was well and working fine up until then...i use a broadband card from verizon wireless and Tomtom home 2.o simply stopped responding ....every once in a while it will let me log in but when i try to gather updates it just spins it little wheel like a giant FU....its so frustrating....makes me want to return it for a big ,lousy, expensive G....
     
    BigNus, Oct 25, 2007
    #19
  20. Scrambles

    TomTomPutz

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720
    Familiar with Tor?

    I'm able to spoof my IP address by using Tor, so I can at least access the TT site now. Anyone know how to get TT Home to work with Tor?

    Bruce
     
    TomTomPutz, Oct 25, 2007
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.