Cannot search


Joined
Aug 17, 2017
Messages
3
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
Mobile
Hi Guys and girls,

I am running tomtom go mobile 1.17 with UK map 990.8307 on a OnePlus5. It had worked fine previously. Recently I cannot search correctly. When I go into search (definitely not the recent destination search) and start entering a postcode (where it says "enter an address or name") day bs1 it says "no recent destinations start with bs1". Please help the shop is now useless.

Many thanks
 
Ad

Advertisements

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,734
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
Welcome to TomTomForums.

Can you elaborate a bit more on your search term as Google does not know what to do with it either.

Screen Shot 08-17-17 at 07.57 PM.JPG
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,424
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
I'm confused too, Arno. I could understand a "BS1 XXX" post code somewhere in the Bristol area, but one starting with "DAY"? They don't have post codes that start with three alpha characters.

However, I'm guessing that there's just a typo in there somewhere, and he really is attempting to enter a BS1 (Bristol) post code, and that his post code file from TT is missing or corrupt.

To the OP: Have you performed any updates of any sort since it was behaving correctly before?
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,424
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
To the OP:
I meant to ask, what is meant by "Please help the shop is now useless."? What shop?
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2017
Messages
3
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
Mobile
Welcome to TomTomForums.

Can you elaborate a bit more on your search term as Google does not know what to do with it either.

View attachment 4880

Apologies - Autocorrect issues.

I meant "say BS1" - to be clear I entered a postcode starting with BS1. If I enter anything like London or Bristol or a postcode (indeed any search term) I get the same answer "no recent destinations start with". Again to be clear it is not an incorrect postcode or place name. Even entering "BS" or "Bris" (I.e. The start of a postcode or a city name) gets the same result.

I've tried resetting the app, uninstalling and reinstalling with no joy.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,424
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
There's a specific file involved for post codes, and that appears to be the problem. You're going to need to contact tech support to see if they can sort it. We've seen occasional map updates in the past where post code files were omitted or incomplete, causing the symptom you have. That may be the case here.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top