Cannot Format (attempted format tomtom said to)

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by Strickalator, Aug 23, 2009.

  1. Strickalator

    Strickalator

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greenville,Texas
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom ONE XL
    Ok I was unable to format the disk after 18 hours of time. It got to 100% and then said 172 bad sectors, then asked for a volume label (i pressed enter for none) then it would not format, it stopped and now still no formatted internal memory


    TomTom suggested doing this to re-initiliaze the unit btw, after being unable to update the unit. Now I tried later to format it to just using fat and that seemed to work. But then still the drive cannot be written to. No matter what I cannot get a fat32 format

     
    Strickalator, Aug 23, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Strickalator

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,112
    Likes Received:
    449
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Cen you run a chkdsk X: \f on the unit where X = the drive letter designated by Windows?
     
    dhn, Aug 23, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Strickalator

    Strickalator

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greenville,Texas
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom ONE XL
    i ran a checkdisk yes before i tried to format it it showed no errors, so then i was told to format it, after the 1st attempted format it said I had 172 bad sectors at the 99% point of the format on fat32 , checking it under fat with 16 kb does not show errors
     
    Strickalator, Aug 24, 2009
    #3
  4. Strickalator

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    If you're getting bad sectors then your internal memory is wearing out.

    From your others posts I see you have a one XL and got things working by using an SD card.
     
    mvl, Aug 26, 2009
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.