Cannot download safety cameras. help.

Discussion in 'TomTom Home and MyTomTom Software' started by fzwillie, Mar 1, 2012.

  1. fzwillie

    fzwillie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 720
    Boy you're gonna hate me but these latest files actually disabled the cameras from showing up on my device. When i click on "tom tom Services" on my gps at the bottom the user name says unknown" and when i pass by safety cameras that have been there a while no alert goes off at all.

    Im wondering what is different this time. I followed the same instructions for these files.
    Later on I will try the original files again and revert back. I dont recall if i was logged into Home at the time when i transferred the files but i would think it doesn't matter.
     
    fzwillie, Mar 9, 2012
    #41
    1. Advertisements

  2. fzwillie

    fzwillie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 720
    I meant it says "username anoymous" when i click on tom tom services.
     
    fzwillie, Mar 9, 2012
    #42
    1. Advertisements

  3. fzwillie

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,917
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    That's strange. It's the same set of files as before, just a more recent set.

    Yes, try the set I sent you the first time to see if that sets things right again. Before you do, under services (on your unit), log in again with your original email username and password. I don't think they're related issues, but if your unit has 'forgotten' who you are, that might explain a whole lot of your problem.
     
    canderson, Mar 10, 2012
    #43
  4. fzwillie

    fzwillie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 720
    i really have no explanation as to why it worked the first time and why it wont now. I have a question although its probably unrelated. If you go to click on tom tom services on your gps, just before you do does it say "username anonymous" at the bottom of the gps? im sure it doesn't have anything to do with it, just curious.

    for giggles i was thinking maybe if i brought my gps to work and tried to update it would hit a different server. nope. but at least it was worth a shot.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 13, 2012
    fzwillie, Mar 13, 2012
    #44
  5. fzwillie

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,917
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    No, my unit does NOT say "anonymous". I don't have my 720 handy at the moment, and am trying to recall if there is any benefit to providing your correct email address and password to a 720 now that Plus services are defunct.
     
    canderson, Mar 13, 2012
    #45
  6. fzwillie

    fzwillie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 720
    but whats strange is i can log into the software no problem go figure. oh well.
     
    fzwillie, Mar 13, 2012
    #46
  7. fzwillie

    fzwillie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 720
    figured i would update this thread just to say im willing to bet the issue wont EVER be resolved even though they(tom tom support) said it will be. With it being this long maybe its just something to do with my old unit. If i didnt already have the mounting hardware and cradle for 2 bikes id probably scrap the tom tom in favor of something different but the safety cameras are not enough for me to do that i would say.
     
    fzwillie, Apr 18, 2012
    #47
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.