Canadians can't buy maps?? WTF

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by TomTiddler, Nov 6, 2009.

  1. TomTiddler

    TomTiddler

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Waterloo, Ontario
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 930
    Can anyone explain to me why I can't buy new maps from a Canadian location?? I have a TomTom 930, and TomTom support say they are not even allowed to tell me why Canadians don't have access to Map Updates.
     
    TomTiddler, Nov 6, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. TomTiddler

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,998
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Crappy, isn't it? :mad:

    You will find that even if you set your country to United States, that the purchase will go through TomTom's pay servers in The Netherlands AND you will wind up paying in Euros AND getting nailed with a non-refundable 20% VAT.
     
    dhn, Nov 6, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. TomTiddler

    TomTiddler

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Waterloo, Ontario
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 930
    Is it really that simple? I just set the country to US?
     
    TomTiddler, Nov 7, 2009
    #3
  4. TomTiddler

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,408
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    You better read dhn's post over again, very carefully.
     
    Arno, Nov 7, 2009
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.