Canadian Wal-Marts

Discussion in 'TomTom POI Requests' started by digital-flex, Feb 22, 2007.

  1. digital-flex

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Since the US guys have one, I thought it would be only fair to request one for Canada:p

    I would be really gratefull for it. :D
     
    digital-flex, Feb 22, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. digital-flex

    Nextourer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    I'll take this job up.

    Edit: hmm.. should've have spoke too soon. It's gonna take a while to load all 246 stores. POI2Go doesn't list them properly =(.
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2007
    Nextourer, Feb 22, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. digital-flex

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Thanks Nextourer. I can't wait to see all your efforts.
     
    digital-flex, Feb 22, 2007
    #3
  4. digital-flex

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    By the way is POI2Go software? Is it something I can use freely? I would like to know so maybe I can helpout or at least fill my own request :)
     
    digital-flex, Feb 22, 2007
    #4
  5. digital-flex

    Nextourer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    dude, it'll be a while lol. I'm still in BC. I have done any other provinces.. why does Wal-Mart have so many stores lol.

    Yeah it's free. I forgot where I got it though. I think it was Pedro who gave me the link.

    POI2GO is a software that searches for POIs. POIEdit is the program you need to compile all the locations and save it as a .ov2 file for TT to read.
     
    Nextourer, Feb 23, 2007
    #5
  6. digital-flex

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Of course, I know it will take awhile.

    I will look up the program. Thanks.
     
    digital-flex, Feb 23, 2007
    #6
  7. digital-flex

    Nextourer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    I've only done BC, YT, NWT... oye lol.

    The problem with Wal-Mart is that they love to build on new land and build new roads. This means neither TeleAtlas (TT) nor Navteq (Google Maps) have it so I can't "add" the Wal-Mart location cause neither software can find it! lol
     
    Nextourer, Feb 23, 2007
    #7
  8. digital-flex

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    I just downloaded the POI2GO but the software is called MyPOIMaker, is that correct?
     
    digital-flex, Feb 23, 2007
    #8
  9. digital-flex

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    I can do this. Im not familar with Canada.
    If I had a text or excel file with all the major cities and locations, this would be easier for me to make all POIs for Canada.
     
    Pedro2NR, Feb 23, 2007
    #9
  10. digital-flex

    Nextourer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    www.walmart.ca is your friend haha

    I had to use this to get the address then use my TT1 to get the coords since POI2GO wouldn't give me the address nor coords (if it even showed in the first place). Most of the results it gives isn't even close to Wal-Mart.

    It works well for other POIs, however.

    Pedro2NR, I've done BC, Yukon and NWT. If you want, I can send you the ov2 file so you can continue on.
     
    Nextourer, Feb 23, 2007
    #10
  11. digital-flex

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    The list Im refering to is a text file that shows this:

    Los Angeles, CA
    Atlanta, GA
    Chicago, IL
    Dallas, TX
    Vancouver, WA

    I need a list like this for all of Canada!
    This list will generate all POIs for Canada.
     
    Pedro2NR, Feb 23, 2007
    #11
  12. digital-flex

    Nextourer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    here you go
     

    Attached Files:

    Nextourer, Feb 23, 2007
    #12
  13. digital-flex

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    You guys are awesome.

    Is there any tutorials on this site on how to create POIs? I can try and help contribute to the site.
     
    digital-flex, Feb 23, 2007
    #13
  14. digital-flex

    Nextourer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Well, you could search for my thread on custom POIs.

    It's quite simple. Just download POIEdit (at www.poiedit.com).

    Once you have the program, click "Create new POI"

    then click "new entry". Whatever you type in that box will be shown on the TT display. After adding the coordinates, you're done!

    Save it as a .ov2 file and put it in your USA_and_Canada folder.
     
    Nextourer, Feb 24, 2007
    #14
  15. digital-flex

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Thanks, will give it a try.
     
    digital-flex, Feb 24, 2007
    #15
  16. digital-flex

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    I finally started getting around to try making my own custom POI but I think the way I'm doing it is very time consuming and lots of manual input.

    This is what I'm doing to create my Walmart POI for Canada:

    1. I get the address of my first Walmart store from [U]www.walmart.ca[/U]

    2. I then paste the address in Google Earth, this gives me the co-ordinates for the location of the store

    3. I then take the co-ordinates from google earth and plug that in PoiEdit2007

    4. I get the second address of another Walmart and repeat the process...


    Now, I tried inputting multiple address in Google Earth and tried saving it as a .kml file but when I open it up in PoiEdit2007 it only shows one address, not all.

    I'm sure I'm totally doing this wrong and there is probably an easier way to do it. Can someone please advise?

    Thanks in advance.
     
    digital-flex, Mar 10, 2007
    #16
  17. digital-flex

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    OK, sorry I just figured out how to save multple locations from Google Earth to a single .kml file but my question still stands, is there an easier way?
     
    digital-flex, Mar 10, 2007
    #17
  18. digital-flex

    lec510

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    16
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 510
    Easier way ? Plagiarism !:D
    I use MS Streets & Trips , import POI in other formats (made by others), convert them to OV2.
    If you want I can post Canada Walmarts for you.
    I am interested in RVing so my POI collections consist of only these (Walmarts, TruckStops, Rest Areas , WiFi...).
     
    lec510, Mar 10, 2007
    #18
  19. digital-flex

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Yeah that would be sweet if you could.
     
    digital-flex, Mar 11, 2007
    #19
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.