Can you say, "Bandwidth"?

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by fcoliver, Dec 26, 2007.

  1. fcoliver

    fcoliver

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boone, NC
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 720
    Is it just me, or does anyone else feel that TomTom is running their web site server from a 56K dial-up modem?
     
    fcoliver, Dec 26, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. fcoliver

    thestaton

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    3
    56K your being generous. Feels like 28.8 :)
     
    thestaton, Dec 26, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. fcoliver

    Nextourer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    just tried their site. It seems to be working fine now.
     
    Nextourer, Dec 27, 2007
    #3
  4. fcoliver

    fcoliver

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boone, NC
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 720
    I don't get it!

    Nextourer's post was just an hour after mine, but I continued to have problems on the TT site after that.

    This morning it took over 90 seconds to load www.tomtom.com (both times.) I've been on dozens of web sites this morning, and none took longer than 2 seconds.

    Once I got on the TomTom site I clicked on "My TomTom". The first time it failed to load; the second time it took almost 2 minutes. When I clicked on "My Questions" I got an access denied error.

    Can they block me from TomTom.com for asking too many questions?
     
    fcoliver, Dec 27, 2007
    #4
  5. fcoliver

    fanchee

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 335S
    LOL - that made me laugh! I think their site is just overwhelmed. I seriously doubt they would block you from asking too many questions! :D

    I was having problems accessing the site earlier and just decided to give it another few days. I'm in no hurry but can understand the frustrations of people who need immediate assistance and can't get through.
     
    fanchee, Dec 27, 2007
    #5
  6. fcoliver

    fcoliver

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boone, NC
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 720
    Yeah, Fanchee, in my heart, I know a LOT of people got TomToms for Christmas and are really taxing the bandwidth on the TomTom servers.

    OTOH I think they ought to consider an upgrade in bandwidth. Even three weeks ago the new map was a FIVE-HOUR download.
     
    fcoliver, Dec 27, 2007
    #6
  7. fcoliver

    SouthPaw

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hudson Valley, NY
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One XL-S
    Would be better if they added p2p code to TomTom Home to shared files. They could offer discount coupons or free Plus service based on amount of data you share up.
     
    SouthPaw, Dec 27, 2007
    #7
  8. fcoliver

    ptco911

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manhattan, KS
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 720
    With the increase in sales of the Tom Tom units I would think they could invest in an increase in support servers and bandwidth. Sometimes I think they are operating on the fly.:confused:
     
    ptco911, Dec 27, 2007
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.