Can the xxl 550TM do voice commands

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by Robm, Nov 21, 2010.

  1. Robm

    Robm

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Florida
    TomTom Model(s):
    720
    My wife picked up the XXL 550TM and gave me back my old 700 series TT (at least thats what I think it is, havent seen it in so long now). I remember there was a hack to get the 700 to do voice commands...does this exist

    thanks
     
    Robm, Nov 21, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Robm

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    Does that unit have a microphone or offer handsfree for the Mobile phone? without the mic it certainly can't be moddified for voice control - Mike
     
    mikealder, Nov 21, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Robm

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,905
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Mike - The XXL550 doesn't have the mic - it's one of those that can be configured to manage volume based upon vehicle speed, not based upon ambient sound, and doesn't do hands-free. It's also one of those blasted "Easy Menu" models.

    A GO 550 would do it, though.
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2010
    canderson, Nov 21, 2010
    #3
  4. Robm

    Robm

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Florida
    TomTom Model(s):
    720
    Well then I am confused...if it doesnt have a mic, how does it reduce the volume automatically based on ambient sound option, and it appears to work as well.
     
    Robm, Nov 21, 2010
    #4
  5. Robm

    pfhorce

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Robm - As stated in the response by "canderson", it is based on vehicle speed, NOT ambient sound. No mic. Only GO Units have the ASR file required for voice commands and a mic for input.
     
    pfhorce, Nov 21, 2010
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.