Can Speed Camera symbols be seen on the Go 6200 map view


Joined
Oct 5, 2018
Messages
15
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
6200
Having missed a combined speed reduction and average speed section until I was actually in it, (only then did I see a 50 mph sign and then the average speed cameras) I wondered why I didn't get a warning and if this section of road does not have a warning then I want to add one.

I checked the 6200 settings and it seems I can have either a warning on the side bar OR a verbal warning. (I would like both). I find the visual symbols are so cluttered that seeing one specific one is impossible and I don't remember a sound warning.

After my journey I thought I would select the route and see if cameras are shown on the map. I can see other symbols like petrol stations but not the location of cameras etc?

Is there a way to show camera location/average speed zones, so that I can check if there is one registered on the A12 where I encountered the speed restriction and average speed warnings/cameras? There are several speed restrictions sometimes very short and at least two average speed zones on the A12 between the M25 and Ipswitch.
 
Ad

Advertisements

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,199
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
Call support for advice:

United Kingdom
02079 490 132
Monday - Friday: 9:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2018
Messages
15
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
6200
Call support for advice:

United Kingdom
02079 490 132
Monday - Friday: 9:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
OK it isn't possible to make a camera update when back at home you have to be on the actual journey. This makes it difficult when on a fast A road or motorway, as you would have to stop during the journey and play with the sat nav. Hmmm

The guy I spoke to said it may be added to the list of software updates.

PS it IS possible to make a speed limit update when back at home.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 5, 2018
Messages
15
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
6200
OK it isn't possible to make a camera update when back at home you have to be on the actual journey. This makes it difficult when on a fast A road or motorway, as you would have to stop during the journey and play with the sat nav. Hmmm

The guy I spoke to said it may be added to the list of software updates.

PS it IS possible to make a speed limit update when back at home.
CONFUSING !

On mapshare ... i.e. when on the web (i.e. not on your satnav)

www.tomtom.com/mapshare/tools

you can report both speed limits and traffic cameras.

It would appear from support that you can add speed limits direct on the sat nav but not traffic cameras.

Funny that the support guy didn't mention that I could do both on the web at home, as the "at home" bit was what I asked him about.

Tomtom not helping themselves here !
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top