Can Not Use This Map On This Device

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by bpres, Sep 10, 2013.

  1. bpres

    bpres

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have a 6 month old Start45M with free lifetime map updates. Last week was the first time I updated the map. Tomtom Home asked if I wanted to upgrade, clicked yes and unit upgraded, tried to use device and it says "Can Not Use This Map On This Device: USA_Canada -826" Help. How do I get it to give me the correct map for my Start45M ?
     
    bpres, Sep 10, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. bpres

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,072
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Try a drum reset on the unit by holding the power button about 20 seconds till you hear the drum sounds unless your model has a dedicated reset hole.

    If that doesn't help, make a call to CS:

    [​IMG]United States
    866 486 6866
    Monday - Friday: 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. EST
    Saturday: 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. EST
     
    dhn, Sep 10, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. bpres

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    It may be worth trying the TomTom Clear Flash tool. You can download it from HERE

    No guarantees, but worth a try.
     
    Andy_P, Sep 10, 2013
    #3
  4. bpres

    redrock3

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    US
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 540 WTE, Via 1505, XXL TM
    You didn't say if you were the original owner or where you brought it. If it came from eBay, or some other used venue, you likely got a unit with a patched map and it has been nuked (as it should be.) If you are the original owner and have your receipt, call TT customer service. I have noticed recently that when I have purchased a used TT unit off eBay for the screen or logic board that had a no map found message, when I connected it to TT Home, I was offered the original map as a download at no cost. So if you are not the original owner, you could try to delete the flagged map and see if you can download the map that is keyed to your unit.
     
    redrock3, Sep 15, 2013
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.