Can I install any TomTom software on a PDA?

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by desmond, Feb 10, 2009.

  1. desmond

    desmond

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    I'm going around in circles here trying to figure this out. Basically, I want to buy a PDA with a GPS and install TomTom on it. There are so many different versions of TomTom on the site, I can't tell if the difference is the software or the hardware though.

    I don't need up to date traffic information. Basically, I was looking at the TomTom ONE XL and thought I could just buy a cheap PDA and install the same software on that, can't I?

    Do PDA's not have as good reception as the TomTom unit?

    Thanks for any help.
     
    desmond, Feb 10, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. desmond

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,986
    Likes Received:
    442
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    TomTom's software is linux based; PDA's are not as best as I can tell. Therefore, even if you could copy the firmware onto a pda, it wouldn't run.

    Interestingly (or maybe not), there are rumours that TomTom (and other companies) had software ready to run on an Apple I-Phone 3G but Apple would not allow the licensing to go through.
     
    dhn, Feb 10, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. desmond

    pianoCM

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Lowell, MA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO920
    It would be Tomtom Navigator v6 (I think)
     
    pianoCM, Feb 10, 2009
    #3
  4. desmond

    desmond

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, always such quick replies on here, thanks guys!

    I did have TomTom running on a Windows based PDA a few years back, it worked fine. I do recall it taking a long time to connect when we were in a city zone with tall buildings though.

    The bloke who sits next to me keeps on telling me to buy a dedicated TomTom and stop trying to save cash! Maybe he's right :) Once you've bought a dedicated TomTom ONE XL, can you get software updates each time they come out?

    Thanks again.
     
    desmond, Feb 10, 2009
    #4
  5. desmond

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,986
    Likes Received:
    442
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Software (or firmware, same thing) updates are always free. New maps cost more, of course.
     
    dhn, Feb 10, 2009
    #5
  6. desmond

    desmond

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Excellent, thanks for your help
     
    desmond, Feb 10, 2009
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.