Can I delete map and install a different map?

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by Duckycards, Jul 26, 2010.

  1. Duckycards

    Duckycards

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Beautiful New Mexico - The Land of Enchantment
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL540TM
    I would like to delete the USA_Canada_and_Mexico map on my Tomtom XXL540 and replace it with a USA only map. Is this possible? If so, can someone tell me how to do it? I have a good backup of the current system that I made using MS Explorer so I should be able to restore that if I run into problems... right? Any help will be appreciated.
     
    Duckycards, Jul 26, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Duckycards

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,026
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    What do you hope to gain by deleting the complete map that came with the unit and replacing with a smaller map? Do you feel space is an issue? It shouldn't be. The complete map fits in the 2 gb storage and you still have room for adding custom ov2 files if so inclined.

    Also, you would need to purchase a USA only map to replace the one you have.

    Can you clarify your concerns, please?

    Of course it's doable (just use Explorer to move the complete USA_Canada_Mexico to your computer) but I don't know why.........
     
    dhn, Jul 26, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Duckycards

    Duckycards

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Beautiful New Mexico - The Land of Enchantment
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL540TM
    Thanks for the response, dhn. Maybe I'm worrying unnecessarily but I am concerned that over time I will find myself without enough space to add new favorites, POIs, etc. I believe I presently have about 40 MB of free space. I'm not sure how much space is used up by adding favorites and POIs. Maybe it is no issue. However, I'm quite sure that I will never have any need for Mexico or Canada maps and I do have a good backup in case I ever did need them. So it just made sense to me to make better use of that space if possible. Would I have to remove everything from my unit or could I just replace the maps?

    Thanks again!.
     
    Duckycards, Jul 27, 2010
    #3
  4. Duckycards

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,026
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    There shouldn't be a problem with the space.

    If you want to retrieve more, you can delete any files not EN_US in the license folder, remove any files in the raster folder, remove any car icons you won't use, remove any voices you won't use.
     
    dhn, Jul 27, 2010
    #4
  5. Duckycards

    Duckycards

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Beautiful New Mexico - The Land of Enchantment
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL540TM
    Thanks again, dhn. I guess my fears were unfounded. :eek:
     
    Duckycards, Jul 27, 2010
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.