Can GO 2535 TM WTE be upgraded to LIVE in Canada?

Discussion in 'Navcore' started by Andre_Ottawa, Dec 10, 2012.

  1. Andre_Ottawa

    Andre_Ottawa

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 TM WTE
    Hi all,
    I just purchased my third TOMTOM GPS GO 2535 TM WTE.

    I was extremely happy with previous units that used TOMTOM Home software, as it allowed me for so much and so easy customization of the unit.

    However, I found two issues that make me consider returning the new unit to the store:

    1. Unfortunately, I just learnt that GO 2535 TM WTE is not using the TTHome software but rather “primitive” (I apologize for the word) MyTomTom webbased program. It is complicated and removed from user lots of control, and nobody knows if it will improve any soon...

    2. Second problem, I was told by TomTom Canada that for this unit I cannot purchase LIVE services, even though in USA they lunched successfully GO LIVE 2535 M. In my understanding GO 2535 TM WTE and GO LIVE 2535 M are almost identical units, and should use the same operating software. With TTHome software I would not have a problem to fix it, but MyTT won’t do the trick.

    I am willing to pay the LIVE services but TOMTOM Canada tells me it is impossible !!!

    Guys please tell me what do you think about it, should I return it and get GO LIVE 2535M from USA or wait wait wait for MyTT upgrade, or there is another way to get the LIVE services.....

    As much as I was excited about the 8GB memory and maps for America and Europe, I really want to have LIVE services (this is the next step in GPS evolution).

    Greetings, Andre.
     
    Andre_Ottawa, Dec 10, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Andre_Ottawa

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,002
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Andre. The **only** LIVE model in Canada is the Go LIVE 1535 model. Even if you were to get a 2535LIVE model in the States, it wouldn't work here (LIVE services, that is) since the US LIVE models get a signal from the AT&T network while the 1535 LIVE model here uses Rogers. Further, if you were to buy a 1535 LIVE model here, the LIVE stuff also would NOT work in the States.

    So..... in summary............

    If you do value the LIVE functionality above all, return the 2535 and get a Go LIVE 1535 model. (You can always purchase addition [i.e., Europe, for example] maps for the 1535 and install on a micro sdhc card (optional) since the model has a micro card slot.
     
    dhn, Dec 10, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Andre_Ottawa

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,889
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    No need for apologies. You should see some of the things that WE call it - some fit for private messages only! :eek:
     
    canderson, Dec 10, 2012
    #3
  4. Andre_Ottawa

    - et - Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Southern California
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 540, GO Live 1535, GO 620
    Yup, I can confirm from personal experience that installation of additional maps (such as Europe) can be done on the GO LIVE 1535 if you install a micro SDHC card in it. BTW, if you do that, get a card that is Class 6 or faster. It is cheap insurance against slowing things down a bit.

    With best wishes,
    - Tom -
     
    - et -, Dec 11, 2012
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.