Build a map on computer and move it to TomTom.

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by BrianO, Sep 29, 2015.

  1. BrianO

    BrianO

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    My daughter gave me a TomTom and I would like to build a map on my computer using the route I want to use. Could anyone please point me in the right direction to do this. Many thanks.
     
    BrianO, Sep 29, 2015
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. BrianO

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,998
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    What model?
     
    dhn, Sep 29, 2015
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. BrianO

    BrianO

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Go 500
     
    BrianO, Sep 29, 2015
    #3
  4. BrianO

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,998
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    If a newer Go 500, you can't, sorry.
     
    dhn, Sep 29, 2015
    #4
  5. BrianO

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,875
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    The latest production ONP doesn't support that yet? I lose track.
     
    canderson, Sep 29, 2015
    #5
  6. BrianO

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,998
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    I guess I am as well.......
     
    dhn, Sep 29, 2015
    #6
  7. BrianO

    BrianO

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    The reason that I asked the question is based on regularly losing our way from Earl Shilton to Steventon Oxfordshire because we don't want to use the M1. I thought that I saw something that might help when I looked at the TomTom before we set off on our way back to Steventon but as is usual we did not feel inclined to stop and look at the TomTom once we had got going so we got lost again. I just switched the TomTom on again and found a number of possibilities; "Calculate" "Alternative" "Recalculate original". "Travel via". However, I'm not sure if these facilities work in my study or if I need to connect the TomTom up in our car. Having said that I would prefer to be able to construct a rout on my computer and input it into the TomTom. I wonder if Garmin offer such a capability.
     
    BrianO, Sep 29, 2015
    #7
  8. BrianO

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,998
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
  9. BrianO

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,408
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    I think they are planing to make routes available to download to your GO 500.
    What you want to do at this time to avid being routed over the M1 is to make a change in the Settings.

    Tap Menu.
    Tap right side until you see the gear icon for Settings, tap it.
    Tap Route Planing.
    Make sure the radio button "Ask me so I can chose" is selected.
    Tap the Down arrow on the right hand side.
    Make sure the radio button "Avoid Motorways" is active.

    Then tap the top right button to get back to the drive screen.
    Since I do not have a map for the UK I cannot see the results but you could test it.

    To drive a route in Demo mode you should be at one end and select the other as the destination and tap the steering wheel when finished
    Tap Menu.
    Tap Current Route, go to the end of the menu.
    Tap Play Route Preview.
    This Demo will run several times faster than real time but will still take some time.
    I would be worth trying it at least once so you can see/know what to expect.

    I just did the route on my GO 930, which should have pretty much the same map as your GO 500.
    Avoiding Motorways it gives the following, in a nut shell (I won't list roundabouts while staying on the road number).

    A47 Leicester Rd
    B4668 Leicester Rd
    B590 Spa lane
    B578 Hinckley Rd
    A5 Milton Keynes
    A43 Ardley
    B430 Ardley
    A34 Whitchurch
    B3400 London St / High St.
     
    Arno, Sep 30, 2015
    #9
  10. BrianO

    BrianO

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Many thaks, I will give it a try.
     
    BrianO, Sep 30, 2015
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.