Brand New One XL-S User needs help...

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by strad36, May 28, 2008.

  1. strad36

    strad36

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello All,

    Just received my new One XL-S today - powered it up right out of the box, did the quick setup, took it with me in the car & it worked just fine all day.

    Got home this evening & decided to take advantage of the free latest map guarantee. Installed TomTom Home software & dowloaded the latest map update. It took awhile, but seemed to install easily. Everything looked great, so I also downloaded the Quick GPS Fix & that also installed easily.

    After that, I disconnected from the PC & since then I get absolutely no GPS signal at all. I've tried sitting in my car for 15 minutes waiting for it to find the signal to no avail. I've powered up & down more than a few times & just get "The GPS signal was lost 1 sec ago" message before "No route planned" appears.

    I've hit the reset button, but it's still no good.

    Any ideas what might've happened & any remedy?

    Thanks in advance!

    Chris
     
    strad36, May 28, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. strad36

    GAW

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    CA Bay Area
    TomTom Model(s):
    920
    Has your unit found the satellites yet ?

    If not, it could be having a problem getting a signal at that location for some reason. I have had mine have trouble getting a signal in the garage, and occasionally in a narrow alley or other obstructed place.

    It sounds like the software was installed and works fine, so your updating should not have caused any problems.
     
    GAW, May 28, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. strad36

    strad36

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, it was actually showing up to 8 satellites, but just wouldn't display any GPS at all. Just that gray screen with no mapping whatsoever...

    I finally just did the factory reset & was back in business.

    Thanks for your reply!
     
    strad36, May 28, 2008
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.