brand folder inside north_america_2GB folder

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by aznkingnivek, Aug 10, 2007.

  1. aznkingnivek

    aznkingnivek

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    TomTom Model(s):
    tomtom 720
    hey all,

    I notice in the folder named "brand" located inside the north America folder has several bmp images of stores, e.g. shee, mcdonald, subway. They seem to be POI icons, but are they used by the tt720? if so how do i activate them?
    thanks
     
    aznkingnivek, Aug 10, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. aznkingnivek

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    I don't have a 720 yet but I believe those show up on your navigation map.

    If you go to Change Preferences | Enable/Disable POI the categories of POI's should be displayed. If they still have the generic POI categories like Restuarant, place a checkmark beside it.

    Now if you were navigating, and you pass by a McDonald's you should see the actual logo instead of the generic restaurant symbol.
     
    digital-flex, Aug 10, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. aznkingnivek

    uocooper

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    12
    I thought I had screwed something up on my 720 since the brand icons don't show up for me either. If I control the "virtual" 720 using the HOME software then the brand icons do show up there. If you find out how to get them to show up, let me know.
     
    uocooper, Aug 10, 2007
    #3
  4. aznkingnivek

    aznkingnivek

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    TomTom Model(s):
    tomtom 720
    yes yes, i see the same thing.
    when i use the virtual tomtom on my comp with tomtom home. i see the brands pop up too.
     
    aznkingnivek, Aug 10, 2007
    #4
  5. aznkingnivek

    Mnemosyne

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 720
    I haven't found any way to enable them either, though I did see them in there. I thought that maybe they might be there for the future update when the "rich POIs" are going to be available.

    I can't see them at all through the virtual TomTom on home, because I can't get that to work at all. It always just tells me to plug in the TT and turn it on, even when it is turned on. I've called support about it, and got someone who obviously had no clue who told me that the virtual TomTom is dependent on their support servers being functional and that the servers were having maintenance done on them for the past few days. It really didn't make any sense at all, but after having wasted about 20 of my cellphones minutes talking to someone who didn't have a clue, I gave up. I'm really having the worst time with TomTom's tech support.

    Now that I know that it's working for the rest of you though, I can call back, I guess.
     
    Mnemosyne, Aug 13, 2007
    #5
  6. aznkingnivek

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    2
    any chance of getting the NA "BRAND" folder up for me to look at?


     
    mikecwest, Aug 13, 2007
    #6
  7. aznkingnivek

    Mnemosyne

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 720
    Mnemosyne, Aug 14, 2007
    #7
  8. aznkingnivek

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    2
    has anyone tried to move this BRAND folder to an older map, or TT System?
     
    mikecwest, Aug 14, 2007
    #8
  9. aznkingnivek

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    2
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2007
    mikecwest, Aug 14, 2007
    #9
  10. aznkingnivek

    Mnemosyne

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 720
    If you look at it closely, it's missing a small chunk out of it. That happened while it was in my eye, and the tiny piece was stuck in my eye. I took the photo to show someone else how small of a piece it was that was stuck so they could help advise me whether or not I should see a doctor.
     
    Mnemosyne, Aug 15, 2007
    #10
  11. aznkingnivek

    badboy38

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.