Blue Screen of Death with Windows 7 X64 and TT Home 2.8.

Discussion in 'TomTom Home and MyTomTom Software' started by fpapp, Apr 2, 2011.

  1. fpapp

    fpapp

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL 340TM
    Hi Folks,

    Lately when I connect my XL340TM to my computer to check for updates, about 50% of the time when I turn it on, and select "connect to computer" it causes my PC to BSOD.:help:

    I'm running Windows 7 X64 and TomTom Home 2.8.

    Any tips, suggestions?

    Thanks
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 16, 2011
    fpapp, Apr 2, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. fpapp

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,024
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Can you try to run Home in XP compatible mode?
     
    dhn, Apr 2, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. fpapp

    fpapp

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL 340TM
    I actually have an XP partition on my system, so I'll install "Home" on there and give it a try.

    I was just looking at the system requirements, and it appears that "Home" isn't compatible with the 64 bit operating system,:rolleyes: so that might be my problem.

    Thanks
     
    fpapp, Apr 2, 2011
    #3
  4. fpapp

    DavidS777

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Seattle, WA (Where it RAINS all the time...)
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL540TM
    fpapp -

    The easiest would be to try and run in 'xp compatible mode... (if that works :cool:)

    Not sure, but I'm thinking that if you install it to your xp partition - this is just like a different machine; and you will have to create a new TT account/ or transfer the TT account status etc.

    D.
     
    DavidS777, Apr 2, 2011
    #4
  5. fpapp

    alfie67

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    8
    TomTom Model(s):
    340S TM (2011), ONE XL (2008)
    My Home v 2.8.1.2218 works fine on my system - including "Operate my ONE XL" . . .

    Toshiba A665
    i3 CPU 2.27 Ghz
    4GB ram
    Win 7 64-bit

    Perhaps there is an issue other than 64-bit . . . you could also double-check you have the latest version of Home installed.

    Hope you can get rid of the BSOD!
     
    alfie67, Apr 3, 2011
    #5
  6. fpapp

    fpapp

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL 340TM
    The last few days I've been updating through my Windows XP partition, and have had no problems, so I guess I'll continue to use it for updates.

    I don't know why I'm having problems with Windows 7 X64 and my TomTom, but nothing else has caused it to BSOD.

    Thanks for the replies.
     
    fpapp, Apr 7, 2011
    #6
  7. fpapp

    Oliverokk

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    S.C.
    TomTom Model(s):
    #2 XXL 540TM
    Just to add to the mix, I have Windows 7 Premium 64 bit. Tom Tom Home with all the features and the XXL 540 TM works great. Had some drama back in Dec and Jan but those issues were resolved with later updates and downloads.
     
    Oliverokk, Apr 7, 2011
    #7
  8. fpapp

    doctormstein1

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Holtsville, NY
    TomTom Model(s):
    2535M Live
    Last time I had a blue screen, it was a driver problem that I figured out by using safe mode. I finally had to get some cheep software like driver doctor which fixed the screen. Try the program is safe mode and see
     
    doctormstein1, Apr 7, 2011
    #8
  9. fpapp

    phrazel

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have win 7 x64 also and I have ran in to lots of trouble updating also. I am updating right now...(knock on wood)
     
    phrazel, Apr 16, 2011
    #9
  10. fpapp

    Giljorak

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL340TM & ONE 130
    I have a Windows 7 x64 Ultimate box that has had the BSOD when using my ONE 130 since day one of getting the 130. So far I have not had issues with my new XL340TM. We'll see how it goes I've only had the 340 for a few days.
     
    Giljorak, Apr 16, 2011
    #10
  11. fpapp

    Tim Marshall

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Blue Screen on updating

    Yes, I get this now. I also use WINDOWS 7 64 bit. I have not updated my TT One Special Edition 3 for some time so I don?t know if this is due to a Microsoft update or what. Any thoughts would be very welcome. Tim
     
    Tim Marshall, May 8, 2011
    #11
  12. fpapp

    fpapp

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL 340TM
    Any updated news on this issue? I'm still having this problem!

    fpapp
     
    fpapp, Dec 11, 2011
    #12
  13. fpapp

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,024
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Windows 7 64 bit often doesn't handle Java & Adobe Flash properly.
     
    dhn, Dec 11, 2011
    #13
  14. fpapp

    fpapp

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL 340TM
    fpapp, Dec 18, 2011
    #14
  15. fpapp

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,024
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Thanks for the feedback :thumb:
     
    dhn, Dec 18, 2011
    #15
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.