Anyone know how to connect traffic with motorolaQ on Verizon?

Discussion in 'TomTom Services' started by dphess1, Jan 11, 2008.

  1. dphess1

    dphess1

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a 720 and a verizon motorola Q. I am able to connect via bluetooth but cannot add the traffic feature. Any one have suggestions. The whole reason why I upgraded to this model was for traffic and weather updates but it looks like that may not be possible. Also, does anyone have any idea of how to get the poi's for restuarants to display by kind of restuarant? ie chinese, italian> thanks:)
     
    dphess1, Jan 11, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. dphess1

    joey301

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    TomTom Model(s):
    720
    good luck

    If you look around, there is quite a bit of information here about this, but in a nutshell, you can't do it unless you have Verizon's tethering option, unless, maybe, if you perform some rather complicated hacks that are available on howard forums. If you have tethering, there are some pretty explicit instructions available. If you find something else, please let me know.
    joey
     
    joey301, Jan 11, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. dphess1

    ckacyon

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Conshohocken, PA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 720
    2nd on the tethering plan. I have a Blackberry 8703e through work and cannot use the traffic function via it either. It will say "modem mode enabled", but then refuse the data connection. Fortunately I can use it with my personal RAZR V3xx via AT&T though.

    I know through our work plans, the tethering for Blackberry is only an additional $15/month, so you may want to call Verizon and tell them you'd like tethering capability on your phone. You could use VZ Access manager software if you have a laptop and use that as an internet connection as well, perhaps making it a better value.
     
    ckacyon, Jan 14, 2008
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.