Any calibration adjustments? TomTom places my house on two streets over.

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by CaDreaming, Mar 12, 2009.

  1. CaDreaming

    CaDreaming

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    It seems to work fine everywhere I've gone so far but when I'm at home it places me on the wrong street. This is very weird. Its not like the two streets are close either. There is considerable distance.

    Any ideas on what is causing this and/or how to tweak it?

    This is on a Go 730
     
    CaDreaming, Mar 12, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. CaDreaming

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,023
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Go to the end of your driveway and make sure you have an unobstructed view of the sky.

    Preferences-->page 2 -->Change home Location -->arrow right-->My Location. Press that!
     
    dhn, Mar 12, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. CaDreaming

    joephu

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    East Greenwich, RI
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 730
    Yes, that would take care of the problem but still doesn't explain the cause. Maybe the maps filed for your street are wrong, especially if you are not having accuracy problems elsewhere. You could also submit a map correction to TomTom to review and hope they take care in a future map.

    On a few occasions (maybe 4 in the past year) my accuracy will be off a few hundred feet too. I'll get on the highway and the GPS thinks I'm on the side roads doing 70mph! The recalculate trips goes nuts trying to catch up :D. Hitting the reset on the bottom seems to take car of this glitch. Maybe give that a try.
     
    joephu, Mar 19, 2009
    #3
  4. CaDreaming

    drledger

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    TN
    TomTom Model(s):
    930T and XXL
    Just out of curiosity, did you set your home location by address or by accepting the gps location?
     
    drledger, Mar 19, 2009
    #4
  5. CaDreaming

    Malouff

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    3
    TomTom Model(s):
    730
    CaDreaming

    Set your Home location like this.
    Preferences 2 of 8 - Change Home location
    Change Home location to.. - Point on map (on screen 2)
    Tap the blue arrow in the upper right if it is not in the right area as your house - it goes to your current position
    Zoom in and tap to set your home location then tap Done
    Also note that the address numbers on the map may not correspond to the actual placement in real life.
     
    Malouff, Mar 19, 2009
    #5
  6. CaDreaming

    Ricochet

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Delmarva, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE 3rd, GO 720
    This is most likely due to street mis-numbering. TomTom records the end-point values for each street, then divides that by the number of blocks.

    You can change the street numbering ranges in Map Corrections, but it may just be that your street has a bunch of non-standard length blocks. I don't know if the map makes adjustments for things like, town blocks spilling into long winding country roads but retaining their name, etc.

    OR

    It could be that the map's database has the ends of your street in the wrong place (such as where a name-change occurs at a particular intersection.)

    You can also change this (somewhat) in the Corrections. This causes the error on my own street & there's no way to change it, because the name-change occurs at a curve, which is not a selectable segment boundary.


    Hope this helps.

    R?
     
    Ricochet, Mar 21, 2009
    #6
  7. CaDreaming

    Oldster

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Halifax NS Ca
    TomTom Model(s):
    720 v8.302
    Look at Google Earth for your address and turn on Roads. It will likely show your street in the wrong place vis a vis the satellite shot. I think it means that the map makers didn't properly place the street. Compare the lat and long from google earth with your TT and they should match.

    A street in my city Halifax, NS Ca is off by about 400 ft.
     
    Oldster, Mar 22, 2009
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.