Annoying Messages after recent update

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by ahh Doctor Quest, Sep 30, 2012.

  1. ahh Doctor Quest

    ahh Doctor Quest

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Worth
    TomTom Model(s):
    1605TM
    I had the Via 1605 TM for a couple of months and it worked flawlessly right out of the box. I get an email from TomTom that a new map is ready to download. Update took about 45 minutes.

    The first day I use the updated GPS. I plug it in, start my truck and I get a message reminding me there may be a new map to download....no big deal. Then I program my first stop but before I can confirm the address I get a message reminding me there may be a new map to download. I'm thinking there is no way this will be permanent. I drive a few miles, stop for a cup of coffee, turn my truck back on and I get a message reminding me there may be a new map to download.

    Since I use the GPS an average of 15 addresses a day I get a message reminding me there may be a new map to download 30+ times a day. Is there a way to make those reminder messages go away? It is the difference between a GPS I love and a GPS I'm taking back to Costco.
     
    ahh Doctor Quest, Sep 30, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. ahh Doctor Quest

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,046
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    There is no way to turn that message off but it is NOT normal to be seeing it as often as you describe.
     
    dhn, Sep 30, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. ahh Doctor Quest

    - et - Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Southern California
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 540, GO Live 1535, GO 620
    I agree. That behavior is completely different than I have seen on any of my devices.

    Pure speculation - and probably wrong, since I have no experience base with this issue - I wonder if this behavior might happen if the set-up option of "Show Tips" is selected. I have this turned off on my own devices, so I don't really know if it would make a difference, but that's the only thing that comes to mind that might explain the very different behavior.

    With best wishes,
    - Tom -
     
    - et -, Oct 1, 2012
    #3
  4. ahh Doctor Quest

    Jlmendez

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535TM
    This seems to be a new issue. My son bought a new TomTom GPS (don't know the model number) two weeks ago and was asking me if I knew how to disable that same message. I had no idea. He had already disabled the tips.

    Now, after an upgrade three days ago, my TomTom GO 2535TM has started displaying the same message. Twice for each address I enter. This is extremely annoying. Has anyone figured out how to get rid of this?
     
    Jlmendez, Oct 3, 2012
    #4
  5. ahh Doctor Quest

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,958
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    @Jlmendez
    Could you check that unit's version information (at "Me and my device"), to see what application version that unit is running now after the update?
     
    canderson, Oct 3, 2012
    #5
  6. ahh Doctor Quest

    Jlmendez

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535TM
    It reads App 12.040.1030488.84 (0) (2025, 8/8/2012), OS 981015

    Thanks!
     
    Jlmendez, Oct 4, 2012
    #6
  7. ahh Doctor Quest

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,958
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Thanks, Jlmendez. This problem isn't common, but you're certainly not the first to encounter it. I've seen it on a Via 130 unit I'm working with here, too. It seemed to go away after a few days. Not sure why.
     
    canderson, Oct 4, 2012
    #7
  8. ahh Doctor Quest

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,046
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Somebody posted on the British site that a drum reset stopped the message from repeatedly appearing on a UK model.
     
    dhn, Oct 4, 2012
    #8
  9. ahh Doctor Quest

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,958
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    That's definitely worth a try.

    @Jlmendez
    dhn is recommending that you press and hold the power button on your 2535 until you see the TomTom logo and hear the drums start to play. Immediately release the button. That performs a reset on the unit.
     
    canderson, Oct 4, 2012
    #9
  10. ahh Doctor Quest

    ahh Doctor Quest

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Worth
    TomTom Model(s):
    1605TM
    I performed a drum reset and nothing changed...still getting the multiple messages.

    I posted a review on Amazon.com that I was experiencing this problem after the update. I did get a reply from a TomTom community manager saying this wasn't normal and to send a message to TomTom support and they would look into it. I replied yesterday and waiting on a reply
     
    ahh Doctor Quest, Oct 4, 2012
    #10
  11. ahh Doctor Quest

    Jlmendez

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535TM
    I had already tried the reset the first day that it started displaying the message about checking for map updates. It didn't work. Now, however, on the 5th day of this issue, it suddenly stop doing it!!! Why? I don't know, but it behaved all day long (I'm currently in Europe and it's already 9 PM over here).

    So thank you for the various suggestions, hopefully this won't happen again.
     
    Jlmendez, Oct 5, 2012
    #11
  12. ahh Doctor Quest

    Jlmendez

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535TM
    I tried the hard reset the first day, and no joy :( Now, on the 5th day, It has gone away! Don't know why, but it has stopped! :)

    In the discussions pages from the tomtom website, somebody contacted support and was informed of a software glitch, with a fix to the issue expected for next week.
     
    Jlmendez, Oct 5, 2012
    #12
  13. ahh Doctor Quest

    Pietpompies

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go
    I am deciding on 1 of 2 options here. A) Charge them for advertising as it is MY device and they have no right to bombard me with adverts when I never gave permission or B) Report them to Ofcom. I have taken on big organisations before and have won
     
    Pietpompies, Aug 10, 2014
    #13
  14. ahh Doctor Quest

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,046
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    What ARE you talking about????!!!
     
    dhn, Aug 10, 2014
    #14
  15. ahh Doctor Quest

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    The original bug reported here was since fixed with a software update back in 2012.
     
    mvl, Aug 11, 2014
    #15
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.