Adding POIs to XXL550T ...

OK, I am not new to TomTom GPS's but I am new with the XXL550T unit. For the life of me I cannot figure out how to add a POI.

I have searched on TomTom's web site and there is nothing online for this model. The booklet that came with it is useless.

1. How do I add POI, POI Catagories.
2. How can I adjust the display brightness

Thanks in advance
Lenco

The 550 series of TomToms come with an 'EasyMenu' which means many functions of the full menu models are missing, including the the adding of custom poi's and the brightness preference settings.

That's what I'm trying to say.......

You CAN'T add poi categories, edit pois or even show pois in driving view on that model!!

If you can, return the 550 and exchange for a 540 model. Has full menu structure & flexibility that goes with it.

Take it back for a refund, these units with dumbed down menu options are a waste of time, it might cost slightly more to get a better spec device with the full menu options we are all used to being made available, or search around for an earlier device at discounted prices that still has the full options available - Once a device is released with full POI menu it won't be removed, new devices with the dumb menu have been released and unless users return them as unfit for the intended purpose this change might stick - Mike

Mike, you just travelled how many thousands of miles in cyberspace just to make your point!! :D:D

I am not making a personal fight against TT on the issue of dumbed down menu's, if they feel like commiting to a certain path of device releases that no longer offer the user what has become the accepted "norm" in terms of functionality from the units they produce then best of luck to them - Mike

They seem to have gone that route with the North America 550 series and the series '2' in Europe.