A question on upgrading maps

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by Daniam, Nov 7, 2008.

  1. Daniam

    Daniam

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys.... Newbe here so go easy on me please...lol

    I have a Tomtom go 300 and would like to update my maps for it.
    I only have a very slow Dial-up internet connection so I don't use the Tomtom home. A friend gave me the v720.1802 US & Canada map and said to just copy it to your Tomtom SD card.

    I tried that and it said "No maps found" after booting it up and wouldn't let me into the Tomtom menu. I tried to do some reading on this site when I stumbled upon it and read that I need to update my operating system first before being able to run the v720 maps. So I tried updating to the 7.221 operating system.

    After putting the card back in my tomtom and booting it up it went dark after the booting screen.

    So I went back to my original setup that I previously backed-up.

    Any help would be appreciated.... :confused:

    Thanks.
     
    Daniam, Nov 7, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Daniam

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,976
    Likes Received:
    441
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Unfortunately, maps are locked to a specific device. Meaning, even if you had a 720, your friend's map would not work.

    I think it's time you put a newer model TomTom on your Christmas list. :D

    Newer models have more features, better maps, etc.
     
    dhn, Nov 7, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Daniam

    Daniam

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeh... That was my wife's answer also... lol

    I paid $670.00 for it new and now they are about 1/3 the cost that they were back when I bought the go 300.

    Our Verizon cell phone has GPS capability for $10.00 a month but haven't tried it yet, however the only thing with it is the screen is allot smaller than the Tomtom.

    I guess I will have to decide which route to go... Any recommendations on which model to get?
     
    Daniam, Nov 7, 2008
    #3
  4. Daniam

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,976
    Likes Received:
    441
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    dhn, Nov 7, 2008
    #4
  5. Daniam

    Daniam

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you.
     
    Daniam, Nov 8, 2008
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.