A Gong Sound and strange icon???

I'm new to the TomTom ONe and I've notice that on occassion, I get a Gong Alarm sound and a strange icon will appear at the top left of the map: a white box with an EKG like symbol in it with numbers underneath- - 2.4 or 5.4 or 1.3, etc. Typically the numbers will fluctuate up and down. Then it will disappear altogether. I've tried the manual and google but can find no reference of this. You guys are my last resort. Any ideas????

I'm new to the TomTom ONe and I've notice that on occassion, I get a Gong Alarm sound and a strange icon will appear at the top left of the map: a white box with an EKG like symbol in it with numbers underneath- - 2.4 or 5.4 or 1.3, etc. Typically the numbers will fluctuate up and down. Then it will disappear altogether. I've tried the manual and google but can find no reference of this. You guys are my last resort. Any ideas????

I have a 920 and noticed a similar sound after I upgraded to the new Navcore 8 version. On my unit it happens if I exceed the speed limit by 5mph. The speed limit icon is located on the lower right corner of the 920. I'm not sure about the EKG symbol on your unit but the sound definitely matches.

Not sure about your Gong sound but it could be that you have one of your safety preferences set to warn you when you are near a school, church, etc etc. or some other warning that you chosen the Gong is the sound you have selected .

The EKG ?? ( could this be EPT,Ehanced Positioning Technology ) in the white box I think is your unit trying to find the satellites, the numbers going up and down is your unit finding say 2 out of 4, 4 out of 6 etc.etc. satellites.

It has to establish a triangular fix for your unit to lock in to your position.

Is this white box happening when you are inside or someplace where you don’t have a clear shot at the sky.

I am not sure if your unit has the ( EPT ) Ehanced Positioning Technology as it is different than min but I think it might.

Last edited: