910 hard drive???????

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by no clue, Mar 16, 2007.

  1. no clue

    no clue

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    71
    Anyone know what type of HD was install inside of the 910?
    FD? MD?


    update:

    Another reason I want to make sure if the HD is replaceable is because all HD/Flash memory has its "shelf life".
    Heat / cold is just major cause to accelerate its failure.

    And Microdrive could cost you an arm or a leg to replace!
    ________
    Vaporizer Volcano
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2011
    no clue, Mar 16, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. no clue

    hermdog

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO Classic & 910
    Why did yours die?
     
    hermdog, Mar 16, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. no clue

    battom

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,036
    no clue has a ONE and ripped it apart for giggles and pictures! Did you go get a 910 too?!?!?! :D Or are you thinking of disecting that too?
     
    battom, Mar 16, 2007
    #3
  4. no clue

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    I would like to see disected pictures :p
     
    digital-flex, Mar 16, 2007
    #4
  5. no clue

    no clue

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    71
    NO NO, I sold the Tomtom one and currently using the refurbish TomTom 710.
    Yes, I took both apart.....


    Linux has a program that play video and mp3 software adequately.
    Now I want to take 910 apart or want to see if there is possibility to "upgrade" internal HD.
    ________
    Pattaya appartments
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2011
    no clue, Mar 16, 2007
    #5
  6. no clue

    hermdog

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO Classic & 910
    If your are brave enough to take your 910 apart. Please take pictures and document the process.
     
    hermdog, Mar 16, 2007
    #6
  7. no clue

    metfoo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    metfoo, Mar 17, 2007
    #7
  8. no clue

    no clue

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    71
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2011
    no clue, Mar 18, 2007
    #8
  9. no clue

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    220
    I am not sure what it all means....its NOT a standard PCMCIA drive as I had suspected....I took pics, but they look really bad, my camera is not working well. It has some small ribbon type container...there is a rubber shock pad around the corners, and a rubber gasket around the metal trim that surrounds the screen, remove that VERY carefully.... take your time

    **HERE IS THE INFO YOU ALL DESIRE**

    Hitatchi Model # HTC426020G5CE00

    A/A0a6 A/A

    P/N: 08k1568

    CYL16383 H16 S63

    GK0DAC
    GKL2Z9YH
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2007
    mikecwest, Mar 19, 2007
    #9
  10. no clue

    no clue

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    71

    Thanks!!!!!!!!!!
    It is 1.8" HD 50pin ATA interface microdrive.
    Which also used inside of ipod.
    Hitachi 20GB version can be had for around $40 off ebay.
    Where Toshiba 40GB version be had for around $100.

    So, change over is not all that hard. Except, you might need a 50-to-40 pin ata adaptor for your desktop pc to format it first before replacement.

    I guess I will no longer interested in 910. I don't like microdrive as it does create lots heat and very very sensitive to temperature when in operation.
    (yes, moving parts does die one way or the other)

    Eitherway, thanks to mikecwest!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    ________
    Colorado Marijuana Dispensary
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2011
    no clue, Mar 19, 2007
    #10
  11. no clue

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    220

    And the other question you guys probably want to know is "Does TomTom still turn on?

    The answer is YES....

    The other question is "Will TomTom still guide me?"

    I will find out in the next hour or so...

    AS for the 40 GB...I some ending on ebay around $50.00




    OK TOMTOM GUIDED ME!!! IT STILL WORKS!!!!!!!!
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2007
    mikecwest, Mar 19, 2007
    #11
  12. no clue

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    220
    I would think you could format it while its inside of the TomTom...
     
    mikecwest, Mar 29, 2007
    #12
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. mikecwest

    20 GB hard drive UPGRADE??

    mikecwest, Sep 25, 2006, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    3,014
    Idioteque
    Oct 23, 2006
  2. charliemunkie

    hard drive ribbon cable

    charliemunkie, Jun 7, 2009, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,461
    charliemunkie
    Jun 7, 2009
  3. tonysuffolk

    Replacing 910 Hard drive

    tonysuffolk, Oct 3, 2009, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    3,279
    mikealder
    Oct 3, 2009
  4. spider362

    Hard Drive Error After Home 2 Update

    spider362, Aug 17, 2012, in forum: TomTom Home and MyTomTom Software
    Replies:
    26
    Views:
    3,335
    Andy_P
    Sep 7, 2012
  5. TonyWB

    No hard drive in Go 710

    TonyWB, Oct 17, 2012, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,250
    mikecwest
    Oct 17, 2012
Loading...