720 not recognized by computer

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by WillieOne, Feb 19, 2010.

  1. WillieOne

    WillieOne

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    My computer is not recognizing my 720. I have tried it on 2 different computers running XP Pro. Here's what I get.

    USB Devise Not Recognized

    That's on 2 computers. What gives? Thanks.
     
    WillieOne, Feb 19, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. WillieOne

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,135
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Try a pin reset on the unit and try connecting then.
     
    dhn, Feb 19, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. WillieOne

    WillieOne

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    That appears to have done the job. Thanks. Now, what did I lose with that reset? ;)
     
    WillieOne, Feb 19, 2010
    #3
  4. WillieOne

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,135
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Other than perhaps the need to reset the time, nothing at all.
     
    dhn, Feb 19, 2010
    #4
  5. WillieOne

    shane

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    try taking out your sd card and putting back in then plug back into computer it worked for me
     
    shane, Feb 25, 2010
    #5
    1 person likes this.
  6. WillieOne

    lovethatdirtywater

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you! I have a tomtom 720 and had the error message "device malfunctioned usb device not recognized" and removing and replacing the sd card worked instantly.
     
    lovethatdirtywater, May 10, 2010
    #6
  7. WillieOne

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,238
    Likes Received:
    206
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    Slightly different twist: I'm running a 720 w/SD, and find that every time I do an update with Home (even just a mapshare and ephem), I have to do the pin reset in order to have the unit recognize the computer connection the next time that I connect it. After an update, the next time I plug it in, it just boots straight to the main menu and never asks whether I want to connect to the computer or not. I keep a straightened paper clip on my office desk. Minor nuisance, but one I've never understood.
     
    canderson, May 10, 2010
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.